Loading feed...

Apple Thoughts

Loading feed...

Go Back   Thoughts Media Forums > Thoughts Media Off Topic

Old 09-07-2004, 01:52 AM
Mitch D
Sage
Default What Linux Distro should I try?

I am about to open a can of worms here but I am starting to research Linux distro's for a furture system I am looking to build (next month to two month time frame).

I have tried Red Hat, Mandrake and Corel Linux in the past but always walked away after a short period of time. I have finally decided to create a dedicated Linux box but I am not sure which distro to try. I will admit I am a novice at Linux and will need a distro that won't try to kill me during install.

Old 09-07-2004, 06:07 AM
nuka_t
Ponderer

yoper.com

fastest of all distros, installer is average.

mepis.org

super easy installer and all-around good distro.

the ones you posted

redhat-slow, uses rpm's, which suck and are harder to install than deb's(mepis uses debs and yoper uses rpm's created to work like debs)

mandrake-kinda annoying propriety stuff, also slow, also uses rpm. although it has better management than redhat.

suse-great looking, but EXTREMELY slow, also uses rpm's.

for comparison, yoper took me 2 minutes and 40 seconds to install), mepis on the same computer took 20 minutes, and SuSe took well over an hour. i installed mandrake and redhat in virtual pc in windows, so that had an effect on performance obviously.

be aware, its hard to get ppc's working with linux. i havent tried yet, but it is possible.

for your system, make ABSOLUTELY SURE you buy an nVidia card. ATI drivers and performance sucks in linux. i bought a 9600xt and i really regret it. while it kicks ass in windows, im using software acceleration right now in linux cause i can get it to work for the life of me. there is a petition for better ati drivers in linux, so far its got over 15,000 votes, and its only been going for a couple weeks.

Old 09-07-2004, 06:54 AM
bigkingfun
Intellectual