View Full Version : Have you ever gotten soft-stiffed?

Perk
10-04-2005, 05:46 PM
I've been buying software in the PDA arena for many years. Overall, it's been a great experinece and my life is certainly more organized because of it.

However, there are a few glaring exceptions and I'm curious to see if others have had similar experiences, especially with the same vendors:

JOURNAL BAR
Fixed today after around two months. Thanks, OmegaOne!

Tweaks2k2
Fixed today after 12 months! Thanks Frank J.

Have you had similar experiences? Please reply.

Lex
10-05-2005, 11:47 AM
Software support at Pocket Informant once told me my question was not important enough to send to the developer. The front-line person couldn't provide a solution to the problem yet refused to escalate the case. I've since 'offed' the big PIMs anyway to simplify things.

Sven Johannsen
10-05-2005, 04:01 PM
Have you had similar experiences? Please reply.

I don't know. What were your experiences?

Perk
10-05-2005, 04:49 PM
Oops,

I shouldn't have deleted them after both companies suddenly stepped up to fix the problems.

JOURNAL BAR is a program that caches data off the web for weather forecasts and such. It stops working every time there's an update posted. I always go back to Hanadago to download the new version and recently received a message that I had exceeded the maximum number of downloads and therefore could not get the update. This was over 11 months of owning the program. My rights to redownload are now restored.

Tweaks2k2
I purchased this program over a year ago and was never able to use it past its trial becasue the key they sent me didn't work. Yesterday, I reeived an email asking me to install msn messenger so that I could chat with the author. I did and he finally gave me the new key which works. It's a great program and I'm hoping my experience was highly unusual.

Sven Johannsen
10-05-2005, 05:04 PM