View Full Version : Modem

karan_c1990
04-24-2004, 11:00 AM
hey guys

i bought a 56k CF Fax/Modem card for my ipaq h2210
err.. its of no brand- i mean- in the box- it just says "56kbps compactflash fax/modem card" , my problem is that- the drivers included in it- in a floppy- are- only for windows 2000, 98 and xp!

i dont know how to use it in the pocket pc :cry:

please help- where do i get the drivers- and how to use it ??

-karan

Aerestis
04-24-2004, 11:12 AM
Any chance there is a help file with that floppy too? Perhaps it means you cna install the drivers from 98,me,2000,or xp. I'm not sure. I'm not too technically inclined :) I'm sure some documentation can give you some hints though?

karan_c1990
04-24-2004, 11:15 AM
no help file- but theres one text file- it says-

V.90 56K Fax/Modem Compact Flash Card Readme File (2002/03/01, ver:2.20)

System Requirements

The minimum and recommended system requirements for
V.90 fax/modem Compact Flash Card is as follows:

„« 1. A notebook/computer equipped with PCMCIA Release
2.1 or later Type II slot
„« 2. 4MB or higher RAM
„« 3. Card and Socket Services Software (if not using Windows
95 or later)
„« 4. A standard RJ-11 phone line
„« 5. Access to internet via an ISP which offers V.90
transmissions
„« 6. Windows NT4.0, Windows 95 or Windows 98,
Windows 2000, Windows Mellenium, windows XP

Aerestis
04-24-2004, 11:30 AM
I hope I'm wrong, but I'm under the impression that this card isn't meant for your ppc. Maybe someone cna prove me wrong though... It just seems as though this card was intended for use on a windows based computer. :?:

Kowalski
04-24-2004, 02:41 PM
i agree with aerestis.
and here is what i am thinking:
the card is made to use with PCMCIA adapter to go for laptops!

jnajera
04-24-2004, 02:49 PM
Maybe it doesnt even need drivers. Plug it in and see what it does. I have had a couple of CF modems that did not need any drivers. The os has some drivers for dial up modems.

Jon Westfall
04-24-2004, 05:09 PM