View Full Version : Plz Help-welcome recommendations on wireless connection.

kennyl
04-11-2003, 01:44 AM
Hi there, I'm a novice in this mobile/wireless world. :?
I have a laptop and I want to know whether anyone can tell me the in-and-out to the wireless internet access? I've been told that I needed to purchase a WiFi enabled pc-card or alternatively bluetooth. Can anyone tell me what the difference is? or point me in the way I can get info. regarding this matter?

Also, is there any recommendations into the pc-card/bluetooth I should buy to access the internet on my laptop??

many thanks

KennyL.

dhettel
04-11-2003, 02:49 AM
Kenny it's kind of hard based on what you posted to know just what you want to do and where. Do you have any wireless equipment that you are using now? or that you want to use in the future? Is your laptop connected to the internet now? or is that what you want to do. If it is connected now, how is it connected?

Thanks
David 0X

kennyl
04-11-2003, 05:08 PM
Hi David,

Thanks for showing an interest in helping :D . I’m sorry that my first post is a bit vague… I have a Dell Inspiron laptop. In terms of what it has-it has an integrated 10/100 network card and no wireless option (I’m in London, U.K.). My laptop is not currently connected to the internet in anyway..The main reason for this post is that I’m not sure where to start in looking for the suitable equipment to connect to the internet. I read posts from this forum and heard guys talking about getting wireless pc-cards and bluetooth etc.. Being an absolute novice in wireless technology, I was wondering just where and maybe, what kind of equipment should I pursue!! Any recommendations on any good wireless equipment that allows me to surf the internet?

I’ll really appreciate if you can enlighten me on this subject!!

Many thanks.. :mrgreen:

KennyL.

PetiteFlower
04-11-2003, 07:07 PM