View Full Version : T-Mobile in the SE USA

medic119
07-23-2003, 03:44 PM
Ok, I just switched carriers to T-Mobile in Alabama, USA. I got the Sony Ericsson T610 with the deal (although I really wanted a T68i, I don't need all the extra crap. I may try trading it at the local store). The T-Mobile network is GSM and their phones use SIMs.

My question is if I were to acquire a Tanager, SPV, etc could I pop in my Sim and have the phone work on the network? T-Mobile is clueless, although they are the sole carrier for the PocketPC Phone Editions in this area.

I think it would work, but I would like to know if anyone has tried this.

RDC
07-23-2003, 03:52 PM
My question is if I were to acquire a Tanager, SPV, etc could I pop in my Sim and have the phone work on the network?

Yes.

Robert Levy
07-23-2003, 04:11 PM
Yup - just pop in any SIM. I've been using T-Mobile in Virginia for several months with no trouble.

Chronos
07-23-2003, 04:32 PM
I've used T-Mobile/VoiceStream in the DC area for about 2 1/2 years. No problems, as long as you stay in the major metro areas and Interstates.

Yep- just plug in the SIM card (and set the Smartphone to "PCS") and you'll be off and running in no time! I used to own a PPCPE and found migrating is simple and easy. Just be certain to jot down your GPRS settings- you'll need them.

Spongebob
07-23-2003, 04:53 PM
Try it out, as long as that phone isnt locked to a certain carrier, you will be able to use it with your sim:)

RDC
07-23-2003, 05:14 PM
...I got the Sony Ericsson T610...

Um, this phone is supposed to be pretty sweet. Are you sure that it doesn't meet your current needs?

The SE website claims PC synchronization. Unless you have some absolute Smartphone software requirements, you might want to give the T610 a chance.

Janak Parekh
07-23-2003, 05:32 PM
...I got the Sony Ericsson T610...
Um, this phone is supposed to be pretty sweet. Are you sure that it doesn't meet your current needs?