Windows Phone Thoughts - Daily News, Views, Rants and Raves

Check out the hottest Windows Mobile devices at our Expansys store!


Digital Home Thoughts

Loading feed...

Laptop Thoughts

Loading feed...

Android Thoughts

Loading feed...




Go Back   Thoughts Media Forums > WINDOWS PHONE THOUGHTS > Windows Phone Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-2010, 06:00 AM
Brad Wasson
Contributing Editor
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 118
Default Take a "Wordly" Break and Enjoy This New Game

<div class='os_post_top_link'><a href='http://www.wmexperts.com/marketplace-spotlight-wordly?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:+wmexperts+(WMExperts)' target='_blank'>http://www.wmexperts.com/marketplac...rts+(WMExperts)</a><br /><br /></div><p><em>"This is a highly addictive, enjoyable and often humbling game. I didn't experience any bugs, hang-ups or problems running Wordly. The only restriction with Wordly is that it is currently only available for Windows Phones with 480x800 screens. Hopefully, it will be available in the future for smaller screens and make the transition to Windows Phone 7."</em></p><p><img src="http://images.thoughtsmedia.com/resizer/thumbs/size/600/wpt/auto/1277760173.usr110171.jpg" style="border: 0;" /></p><p>George Ponder from WMExperts gave Martin Harte's new Windows Mobile word puzzle game called Wordly a test run and liked what he experienced. In fact, he commented that if you try it you might quickly be hooked. Windows Mobile users can head over to the <a href="http://marketplace.windowsphone.com/details.aspx?appId=fbe9c4e7-c4c7-4293-a60f-00294c093c01&amp;retURL=/search.aspx?keywords=Wordly" target="_blank">Windows Phone Marketplace</a> and give it a try. Note the restriction to screens with 800x480 resolutions.</p>
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-29-2010, 06:42 AM
Demens
Pupil
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 30

And here i have been playing it for a really long time with a 640x480 Touch Diamond.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-29-2010, 08:34 PM
Jason Dunn
Executive Editor
Jason Dunn's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29,160

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demens View Post
And here i have been playing it for a really long time with a 640x480 Touch Diamond.
Maybe it's a slightly different version?
__________________
Want to contact me personally? Use this. Want to read my personal blog? Check it out. Want to follow me on Twitter? Here you go.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-29-2010, 09:57 PM
Demens
Pupil
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 30

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Dunn View Post
Maybe it's a slightly different version?
I don't have that 5x5 setting, but other than that, it's nearly identical.

EDIT: If you actually go and read the marketplace page you can see that what went wrong:
Quote:
4x4, and 5x5 grids (currently only available on 480x800 phones)

Last edited by Demens; 06-29-2010 at 10:02 PM..
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-29-2010, 09:59 PM
Jason Dunn
Executive Editor
Jason Dunn's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29,160

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demens View Post
I don't have that 5x5 setting, but other than that, it's nearly identical.
Well, here's the thing: in order to be listed in the Windows Phone Marketplace, a device needs to support 800 x 480, 320 x 240, and a couple of other resolutions. I don't think 640 x 480 is among them, because I'm not aware of any Windows Mobile 6.5 device that has a VGA screen. So the developer must have released multiple versions...and, strangely, the Windows Phone Marketplace link doesn't even work today...
__________________
Want to contact me personally? Use this. Want to read my personal blog? Check it out. Want to follow me on Twitter? Here you go.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-30-2010, 09:30 AM
martin_ayton
Thinker
martin_ayton's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 459

I bought and installed this on my T-Mo Compact V (aka HTC Touch Diamond2) and it is a very addictive time waster! However, it rarely starts up nicely - sometimes it needs a soft-reset first - and it never shuts down without an error. I'll live with that because it is fun when it runs, but I'm looking forward to some updates.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-30-2010, 10:45 AM
hartem
Neophyte
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Default supported resolutions

Hi alll, I'm the author of Wordly. I can see how our description has caused some confusion over the supported resolutions. The game will run on the following screens:
240x320, 320x320, 480x640, 480x800, 240x400, 320x240, 320X480

Only the 5x5 grid requires the 480x800 resolution.

Thanks!
Martin
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-30-2010, 04:28 PM
Demens
Pupil
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 30

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_ayton View Post
I bought and installed this on my T-Mo Compact V (aka HTC Touch Diamond2) and it is a very addictive time waster! However, it rarely starts up nicely - sometimes it needs a soft-reset first - and it never shuts down without an error. I'll live with that because it is fun when it runs, but I'm looking forward to some updates.
My experience has been rock steady.

Do you manage memory on your device by yourself with task managers and stuff? It could be that some stuff refuces to close on it's own when the os reserves the memory for the newly opened wordly.

I know that for example Opera can leak memory when not closed manually but by a process, this can lead to stucking phones.

Though, i am running it on Wm 6.5.3, so cant really say of it's steady just becouse of that.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-01-2010, 09:11 AM
Lee Yuan Sheng
Contributing Editor
Lee Yuan Sheng's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,503

Hey, there's a similar game on Android called Wordup! It's pretty fun, but boy it's humbling alright.
__________________
Baka. Soku. Zan. - The justice behind the dysORDer.
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-01-2010, 09:25 AM
martin_ayton
Thinker
martin_ayton's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 459

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demens View Post
Do you manage memory on your device by yourself with task managers and stuff?
No. For once I have a pretty lean installation: I'm running HTC's UI (Manilla) which does cause problems with, for instance, Laridian's PocketBible, but I don't have MemAid or SKTools or anything like that on this device. The OS is plain WM6.5. On the whole it's the most stable experienceof WinMo I have had. The device gets a soft reset each night as part of the SPB Backup routine, and I don't suppose I have to soft reset it more than once a month apart from that.

I have Wordly installed to the storage card. I did try it on the main memory, but I couldn't get it to run at all from there which is very odd indeed. I have now moved it back to the card and, apart from a scare when it appeared not to run, it is working again now - after a fashion.

I'd like to say that the developer has been great, and is trying to resolve this. He has even offered me a refund, but I've had my money's worth, and it does work, so I won't be claiming that.

Demens, you say you are running 6.5.3, but you don't mention the device, is that also a TD2 or perhaps an HD2, the device on which the app was developed and tested?
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:28 AM.