Zune Thoughts

Zune Thoughts.com

Thanks for visiting Zune Thoughts - be sure to register in our forums!


Laptop Thoughts

Loading feed...

Windows Phone Thoughts

Loading feed...

Digital Home Thoughts

Loading feed...




Go Back   Thoughts Media Forums > ZUNE THOUGHTS > Zune News

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-15-2009, 03:17 PM
Adam Krebs
Contributing Editor
Adam Krebs's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 519
Default Zune 4.0 is now Live. Get It While It's Hot!

<div class='os_post_top_link'><a href='http://zuneinsider.com/archive/2009/09/15/zune-4-0-is-here.aspx' target='_blank'>http://zuneinsider.com/archive/2009...-0-is-here.aspx</a><br /><br /></div><p><span><span>"<em>Early this morning the Zune PC software update went live, Zune HD hit the street and Zune.net got some cool new features. We can't wait for you to get the chance to download the new software, get your hands on a Zune HD and give Zune Pass a spin.</em>"</span></span></p><p><img src="http://images.thoughtsmedia.com/resizer/thumbs/size/600/zt/auto/1253022095.usr495.jpg" style="border: 1px solid #d2d2bb;" /></p><p><span><span>After what seems like months of waiting (technically there was no spring update), Zune has released new <a href="http://www.zunethoughts.com/tags/zune hd" target="_blank">hardware</a>, <a href="http://www.zunethoughts.com/news/show/95156/zune-4-0-software-sneak-peak.html" target="_blank">software</a>, website, and Marketplace. One thing that's struck me is how coherant the update is through the software, website, and what I've seen of the Zune HD. In adition to the big changes, it appears a number of longtime requests have been fixed along the way. For example, the software now has a "mini mode" and the now playing screen can finally go full-screen. And even the older devices have been blessed with an update to 3.2 firmware. We'll be covering the news all morning as it happens, so if you see something cool please be sure to <a href="http://www.zunethoughts.com/contact" target="_blank">let us know</a>. </span></span></p>
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-15-2009, 03:43 PM
Darius Wey
Developer & Designer, News Editor Emeritus
Darius Wey's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 12,959

Just a note to anyone using the standalone installer. If you're attempting to upgrade your Zune 3.x installation in Windows 7 (possibly Vista, too), it may stall at "downloading components... 100%". Your best bet is to cancel it and update via Windows Update. Works like a charm that way.
__________________
Want the latest news, views, rants and raves? Visit our portal. Wish to contact me? Send me a private message or e-mail.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2009, 03:50 PM
SoundMix
Ponderer
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 67

Vista 64 required a reboot for the new drivers to finish installing. I installed via Windows Update.

Paul
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-15-2009, 04:06 PM
Adam Krebs
Contributing Editor
Adam Krebs's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 519

Failed the first time for me (to be fair, I was also updating firefox, and doing other assorted things you should never do when updating software). I closed the Zune software, tried again, and it worked like a charm.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-15-2009, 05:47 PM
rck
Pupil
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 15

Clarification on the Zune Firmware Update for the Zune 30s:

I did not see an update in the firmware after installing the Zune 4.0 software. The firmware on the Zune 30 is listed as 3.1 after a long first sync with new Zune 4.0 software.

I did notice that the Games were missing (however they could have been missing for a while since I rarely play them on the Zune). Going into the software Settings, I saw there was option to install Games under the Player Update option. The install seemed like a firmware update but there was no change in the firmware version after installing the Games.

So it looks like there are no new device features for Zune 30s in this software update.

Has anyone tried any of the new content from MarketPlace (i.e. buying or renting a movie) and tried to see if can work on Zune 30?

For those with the new 3.2 firmware on the newer Zunes, do you know what new features you got?
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-15-2009, 06:47 PM
snap
Pupil
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Default no 3.2 for me

I did not get a 3.2 update either for my Zune 30.

If you don't have games on your device now, it is possible you loss them at some point in the past if you had to do a reset of your device. That happened to me but I was able to re-load the games using the option you found in the PC software.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-16-2009, 01:10 AM
Phillip Dyson
Mystic
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,520

I tried the install initiated from the Zune software. It failed.
I rebooted and tried Windows Update. It failed.
Tried the stand alone installer. It failed.

I'm running 64bit Vista Home Premium.
__________________

Phone: Nexus one Backup Phone: AT&T Samsung Jack; Future Phone: I'm Watching WP7; Media Player: Platinum Zune HD 32GB; Home Server: HP MediaSmart Server LX195 Console: XBox 360, PS3, Wii
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-16-2009, 03:23 AM
rck
Pupil
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 15

Update: As for the firmware update for the Zune 30, I checked again during a sync later in the day and there was finally an optional 3.2 firmware update available. So far, I have not seen any noticable chnages from the new firmware.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-16-2009, 03:45 AM
Phillip Dyson
Mystic
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,520

I'm still unable to install.
through Windows Update
Downloading the stand alone installer
Checking for updates through the Zune 3.0 installer

All failed.

I tried deactivating my Anti virus software and the firewall. Now I get a different error: Error code: 0x80070656

The help and support links are all taking me in circles.
__________________

Phone: Nexus one Backup Phone: AT&T Samsung Jack; Future Phone: I'm Watching WP7; Media Player: Platinum Zune HD 32GB; Home Server: HP MediaSmart Server LX195 Console: XBox 360, PS3, Wii
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-17-2009, 08:40 AM
Darius Wey
Developer & Designer, News Editor Emeritus
Darius Wey's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 12,959

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phillip Dyson View Post
I'm still unable to install.
through Windows Update
Whereabouts is it failing when you attempt to install via Windows Update? There's a phase during installation when the installer shrinks down to this pixie-sized window and often behind all of your other windows, so you'll want to keep an eye out for that if you haven't already, because it requires you hitting "Next" before the installation completes.
__________________
Want the latest news, views, rants and raves? Visit our portal. Wish to contact me? Send me a private message or e-mail.
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:42 PM.