Zune Thoughts

Zune Thoughts.com

Thanks for visiting Zune Thoughts - be sure to register in our forums!


Laptop Thoughts

Loading feed...

Windows Phone Thoughts

Loading feed...

Digital Home Thoughts

Loading feed...




Go Back   Thoughts Media Forums > ZUNE THOUGHTS > Zune Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-16-2008, 12:40 PM
Darius Wey
Developer & Designer, News Editor Emeritus
Darius Wey's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 12,959
Default Zune 3.0 Now Available!

<div class='os_post_top_link'><a href='http://www.zune.net:80/en-US/setup' target='_blank'>http://www.zune.net:80/en-US/setup</a><br /><br /></div><p><img src="http://images.thoughtsmedia.com/resizer/thumbs/size/600/zt/auto/1221564071.usr2.jpg" border="1" /></p><p>Zune 3.0 has arrived! You <a href="http://www.zunethoughts.com/news/show/90533/zune-takes-music-discovery-to-the-next-level-with-new-ways-to-find-and-access-digital-music.html" target="_blank">should already know what's new and improved</a>, but in case you don't, here's the lowdown. On the desktop side, there's Mixview, Just for You, Now Playing, rich search functionality, and enhanced social features. On the device side, you can now access the Zune Marketplace wirelessly, plus enjoy Buy from FM, Zune Channels, games (Texas Hold 'Em and Hexic), audiobooks, and a clock. To download the Zune 3.0 software, simply visit <a href="http://www.zune.net:80/en-US/setup" target="_blank">Zune.net</a>, or if you already have the Zune software installed, run it and wait for the update prompt. Once you have the Zune 3.0 software up and running, connect your Zune to download and install the 3.0 firmware.</p><p>We'll be covering all that's new in 3.0 as well as some other significant announcements later today. Stay tuned!</p>
__________________
Want the latest news, views, rants and raves? Visit our portal. Wish to contact me? Send me a private message or e-mail.
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-16-2008, 01:22 PM
inteller
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 372

You also get free wi-fi access at Mcdonald's. While not Starbucks....it is a good start.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-16-2008, 02:28 PM
Jason Dunn
Executive Editor
Jason Dunn's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29,160

I've installed 3.0 on two of my computers, and the installs have gone smoothly - but I can't get the new Now Playing mode to turn on...it's supposed to happen after a few seconds, but it never seems to. Anyone else gotten this to work?

And wow does the Zune.net site ever break badly in Firefox - it's like they didn't test it with any browser but IE7.
__________________
Want to contact me personally? Use this. Want to read my personal blog? Check it out. Want to follow me on Twitter? Here you go.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-16-2008, 03:53 PM
Darius Wey
Developer & Designer, News Editor Emeritus
Darius Wey's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 12,959

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Dunn View Post
I've installed 3.0 on two of my computers, and the installs have gone smoothly - but I can't get the new Now Playing mode to turn on...it's supposed to happen after a few seconds, but it never seems to. Anyone else gotten this to work?
You may need to tick the box in Settings > Software > Display.
__________________
Want the latest news, views, rants and raves? Visit our portal. Wish to contact me? Send me a private message or e-mail.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-16-2008, 04:46 PM
Jason Dunn
Executive Editor
Jason Dunn's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29,160

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darius Wey View Post
You may need to tick the box in Settings > Software > Display.
Yeah, that was already checked, but it has started working - since it's based off back-end server stuff, I suspect it just can't triggering due to overloaded servers.
__________________
Want to contact me personally? Use this. Want to read my personal blog? Check it out. Want to follow me on Twitter? Here you go.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-16-2008, 05:02 PM
Darius Wey
Developer & Designer, News Editor Emeritus
Darius Wey's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 12,959

Ah, yet another region restriction in place. If you're outside the US, good luck accessing the Marketplace on your device.
__________________
Want the latest news, views, rants and raves? Visit our portal. Wish to contact me? Send me a private message or e-mail.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-16-2008, 06:23 PM
Jason Dunn
Executive Editor
Jason Dunn's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29,160

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darius Wey View Post
Ah, yet another region restriction in place. If you're outside the US, good luck accessing the Marketplace on your device.
Nooooooooooooo.........!! Are you serious? They're IP blocking on the DEVICE???
__________________
Want to contact me personally? Use this. Want to read my personal blog? Check it out. Want to follow me on Twitter? Here you go.
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-16-2008, 07:02 PM
Darius Wey
Developer & Designer, News Editor Emeritus
Darius Wey's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 12,959

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Dunn View Post
Nooooooooooooo.........!! Are you serious? They're IP blocking on the DEVICE???
Phew, thankfully not. I worked out how to enable it.

"Marketplace" won't appear on the Zune's home screen unless you link the Zune with your Zune Tag, and presumably, set your desktop's region to the US. So, it's something to keep in mind, if you've just erased the contents of the device, deleted your existing sync partnership, or are starting with a device that's fresh out of the box.
__________________
Want the latest news, views, rants and raves? Visit our portal. Wish to contact me? Send me a private message or e-mail.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-16-2008, 07:26 PM
Darius Wey
Developer & Designer, News Editor Emeritus
Darius Wey's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 12,959

That said, is it really necessary for Microsoft to impose such restrictions on Marketplace access? The US-only restriction on the desktop is still present in 3.0, and now we have this Zune Tag restriction on the device.

I do understand that it's a step taken to prevent folks outside the US from purchasing Marketplace content or purchasing a Zune Pass subscription, but surely there should still be a way to browse the store? What ever happened to good ol' window-shopping? If Apple can offer this on the iPhone and iPod touch, I see no reason why Microsoft can't offer the same, or more.

Bit of a rant there, but hey, it was long overdue.
__________________
Want the latest news, views, rants and raves? Visit our portal. Wish to contact me? Send me a private message or e-mail.
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-16-2008, 10:16 PM
d_trade
Neophyte
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7

maybe its just something with my computer, but the new zune software is the biggest memory hog ever! im talking 6-figure memory usage here! it even knocked out my internet connection! i really hope there's an explanation for this because i like to listen to music while on the internet, but with this new development, i might not be able to anymore...
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:33 AM.