Digital Home Thoughts

Digital Home Thoughts - News & Reviews for the Digital Home

Register in our forums so you're ready for our next giveaway contest...

Zune Thoughts

Loading feed...

Apple Thoughts

Loading feed...

Laptop Thoughts

Loading feed...

Go Back   Thoughts Media Forums > DIGITAL HOME THOUGHTS > Digital Home Software

Old 07-16-2008, 06:00 PM
Jason Dunn
Executive Editor
Default Live Mesh Goes into Public Tech Preview

http://https://www.mesh.com/Welcome/Welcome.aspx

Microsoft has opened up their Live Mesh service to the general public in the form of a "tech preview" which is a nicer way of saying "mostly still beta". I've been using Live Mesh for a couple of months now, and it's a pretty cool service. You set a folder to be "Live Meshed" and not only will it be kept in sync between multiple computers, the contents of the folder will be kept in the cloud (where you have 5 GB of storage). I think there's a lot of potential here, especially since they've stated they'll be targeting mobile devices. I've been dreaming of having my FlexWallet file be pushed to my device when there's a change in it, because connecting my device with my desktop computer is something I just don't do anymore. I was hoping for years that the FolderShare team would release a Windows Mobile client, but they're still struggling to get the service stable, so no joy there. If you have a desktop and a laptop, and haven't checked out Live Mesh yet, you should.

Old 07-16-2008, 07:42 PM
rzanology
Sage

yes i must say its pretty polished thus far. been using it for a month or so and i love it. im just waiting for them to tie in the "folder share" part of the puzzle. im really excited to see microsoft bust this market wide open! i think google has been getting way too much praise for this "cloud-isk" thing.

Old 07-16-2008, 08:53 PM
Cold Flame
Ponderer
Angry Must be nice...