Windows Phone Thoughts - Daily News, Views, Rants and Raves

Check out the hottest Windows Mobile devices at our Expansys store!


Digital Home Thoughts

Loading feed...

Laptop Thoughts

Loading feed...

Android Thoughts

Loading feed...




Go Back   Thoughts Media Forums > WINDOWS PHONE THOUGHTS > Windows Phone Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2007, 08:11 PM
Nurhisham Hussein
Contributing Editor
Nurhisham Hussein's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,111
Default Call of Duty 2 For Pocket PC Edition Released and Reviewed

<div class='os_post_top_link'><a href='http://www.pocketgamer.org/reviews/cod2/' target='_blank'>http://www.pocketgamer.org/reviews/cod2/</a><br /><br /></div><i>"Based on Activision Inc's award-winning PC title, Call of DutyŽ 2, Call of Duty 2 Pocket PC Edition has been created for Windows Mobile handheld devices, including pocket PCs and smart phones, and is optimized for Marvell Technology Groupšs newest processor family (codenamed Monahans) based on third-generation XScaleŽ technology. Call of Duty 2 Pocket PC Edition continues the trademark cinematic intensity of the Call of Duty brand. Gamers will be transported to the front lines of World War II and experience chaotic battlegrounds with exploding artillery and whizzing bullets, authentic battleground recreation, a vast arsenal of weaponry, and a highly polished gameplay progression. The title features 12 complete single-player levels and utilizes the touchscreen for maximum control and accuracy."</i><br /><br /><img src="http://www.pocketpcthoughts.com/images/web/2003/hisham-20070220-COD2PPC.jpg" /><br /><br />Whew, that's some intro! COD 2 PPC Edition is now available as a direct download. If you're wondering whether this <i>really</i> lives up to its PC cousin, PocketGamer.org has a massive four-headed review that covers the game from top to bottom, with plenty of screenshots. As always you can pick up a copy of COD2 PPC Edition through our <a href="http://www.pocketgear.com/software_detail.asp?id=24148&associateid=204">affiliate link</a>.
__________________
"A planner is a gentle man, with neither sword nor pistol.
He walks along most daintily, because his balls are crystal."
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2007, 09:04 PM
ricksfiona
Pontificator
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,041
Send a message via AIM to ricksfiona

Hey, that's pretty cool! It's great there is a port to the PPC platform. Unfortunately, the graphics are still pre '2000, but with the new accelerators coming out for the PPC, I hope that improves.

If I HAD a PPC at the moment, I would definitely give this a shot. I love 'Call of Duty'...
__________________
Rick Gomez - Owner/Consultant
fiona Systems Integration
www.fionasystems.com
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2007, 09:32 PM
Menneisyys
5000+ Posts? I Should OWN This Site!
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,067

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricksfiona
Hey, that's pretty cool! It's great there is a port to the PPC platform. Unfortunately, the graphics are still pre '2000, but with the new accelerators coming out for the PPC, I hope that improves.

If I HAD a PPC at the moment, I would definitely give this a shot. I love 'Call of Duty'...
It's not a REAL port, unfortunately; just a game bearing the same title with some similarities. However, as has also been pointed out in the PG review, the gameplay and the missions are FAR inferior to the PC version. There is just no comparison.

That is, don't expect anything really PC-like.

However, for anyone NOT knowing the PC version OR not excepting something equally cool / enchanting, this title IS recommended.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-22-2007, 12:13 AM
Joelacrane
Thinker
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 318

I'd be installing it on my x51v right now... if i didn't have dialup internet!!!!! I purchased it and then tried to download it 3 times now over a period of 4 hours. The download fails each time due to disconnects or hiccups in the line. Its very frustrating!

The closest WiFi is 30 minutes away in town, and I think my parents would be a little weirded out if i drove into town just to download a "Nintendo game".

Oh if only DSL was avalible here...
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-22-2007, 09:45 PM
Joelacrane
Thinker
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 318

Ok, now I'm getting pissed. I've tried downloading it on 3 different computers on 2 different connections, and it still only makes it half way before the download just stops. I would like to have it by tomorrow for a trip I'm going on.

Now what?
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-23-2007, 07:56 AM
Nurhisham Hussein
Contributing Editor
Nurhisham Hussein's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,111

I feel for you, man...I've definitely been there before!
__________________
"A planner is a gentle man, with neither sword nor pistol.
He walks along most daintily, because his balls are crystal."
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-23-2007, 02:37 PM
fpso
Neophyte
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joelacrane
O, now I'm getting pissed. I've tried downloading it on 3 different computers on 2 different connections, and it still only makes it half way before the download just stops. I would like to have it by tomorrow for a trip I'm going on.

Now what?
i am having the same problem, bought it yesterday but until today still cannot download completely

try at the office, dial up at home and broadband at other house, the most is 26 mb and disconnect, god so closeeeeeeeeeeeee.

i have complained to pocket gear dude, still no reply.

good luck man
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-23-2007, 06:43 PM
Joelacrane
Thinker
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 318

I have the solution!!!!

Using Firefox, start the download. Every 1-2mb, pause the download for 1-8 seconds and then restart it again. Its tedious, but it works. It worked the first time for me. I was using a 768kbps DSL connection, downloading at about 35kps.

Good luck!

And now, my thoughts about the game. I've just completed D-Day, so I think I can give tell you what I think of the game this far.

AI: It doesn't exist! Both allies and enemies do two things. First, AI's run to a specified point. Then they kneel, stand up, unload their magazine, kneel, reload, and repeat. Allied AI's run to a specified point and do the same thing, minus the kneeling. I have yet to see an ally take out an enemy by himself. They can take a lot of fire though. Enemies also just sit there and fire at you, even if you are behind a brick wall in a different room! If the enemy is in the middle of a huge street, he still ducks, right there. They never pursue you, they never move. AI is not present! The models all look fine. Very, very low polygon counts, but at least they didn't try to use sprites. If you look closely, the models have little facial expressions. They open their mouths and scowl and stuff. Hard to notice on the small screen, but I thought that was pretty cool.

Weapons: They seem fairly authentic. Some weapons have nice animations, some just dont. Some look cool when you reload, some dont. They are a little hard to distinguish because most of the names are just numbers. Non-number names would be nice. My other complaint about weapons, when you throw a grenade, your hands stay on your gun. How is the player throwing the grenade? Melee works well. Its nice to only have one attack button with limited controls.

Graphics: Besides the HUD, there are no sprites. That is good in a way, but bad in another. Why try to use a bland 3d model for stars when you fire your weapon? You could EASILY use a series of sprites. Also, when a grenade explodes, there is a tiny, tiny, TINY 3d explosion on the ground. It is pitifully small. There are some decent particle effects, but i have to ask: If Halo 2 can get away with sprites, why can this game? They could have dressed things up a lot. This looks like the same engine used in GeoRally. It works well. Its very, very clean. Besides the absence of action in battles, it looks great. This is where not using sprites pays off. Most rooms are empty, but every now and then you'll walk into a room that has a fireplace, lamps, rugs, tables and couches. Looks nice for a Pocket PC game. Polygons never tear. Clipping is a tiny bit of a problem, sometimes the barrel of your gun disappears into the wall. Once, just once, i looked through a wall.

Other stuff: The only place to pick up weapons and ammo is off of dead guys. You never find ammo or weapons sitting on tables or in corners. Weird.

Controls: I gotta give props to Aspyr for the control layout. I love how you can customize the on screen buttons. One beef. Just one. The aim mode. When you press "aim", your stylus no longer moves your view. Instead, wherever you tap on the screen, your weapon fires. You can slowly move the screen by holding the stylus down on the edges. The tapping is innacurite and unrealistic. To snipe, you cant train your crosshairs on someone and pull the trigger. You tap on them instead. I hate it! Its so innacurite! It works for automatic weapons, but not snipers. I think a "zoom" button would be a much better idea, complete with a large black circle and crosshairs on scope equipped weapons, like Halo. Don't get me wrong though, the rest of the controls work very well.

This has been a fairly negative review, hasn't it? Sorry, I guess I've just been playing too much Halo 2 and Half-life 2 lately. It IS the best game for Pocket PC that I've played. It really is. It just doesn't quite fulfill my wants in a Pocket PC shooter. It is, however, very, very close. If these few problems were corrected, it would be perfect (At least in my opinion) I have high hopes for the multiplayer. I just really hope that it allows internet play, because I don't know anyone else that owns a Pocket PC.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-25-2007, 03:31 AM
Joelacrane
Thinker
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 318

They sent me this link:

http://www.sendspace.com/file/bfa86a
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-25-2007, 01:00 PM
fpso
Neophyte
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joelacrane
They sent me this link:

http://www.sendspace.com/file/bfa86a
thanks finally got it.

but i can't installed to my hp 4150, it says device not supported. i thought it support wm 2003?
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:43 PM.