Windows Phone Thoughts - Daily News, Views, Rants and Raves

Check out the hottest Windows Mobile devices at our Expansys store!


Digital Home Thoughts

Loading feed...

Laptop Thoughts

Loading feed...

Android Thoughts

Loading feed...




Go Back   Thoughts Media Forums > WINDOWS PHONE THOUGHTS > Windows Phone Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-29-2003, 12:03 AM
Ed Hansberry
Contributing Editor Emeritus
Ed Hansberry's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 8,228
Default New HP iPAQ 1900 and 2200 Series Live At FCC Site

<a href="https://svartifoss2.fcc.gov/cgi-bin/ws.exe/prod/oet/forms/reports/Search_Form.hts?mode=Edit&form=Exhibits&application_id=147393&fcc_id=NM8HB20">https://svartifoss2.fcc.gov/cgi-bin/ws.exe/prod/oet/forms/reports/Search_Form.hts?mode=Edit&form=Exhibits&application_id=147393&fcc_id=NM8HB20</a><br /><br />The FCC has just approved a batch of HP iPAQ 1900 series devices. First up is the 1940 series, which apparently has a Samsung S3C2410 266MHz processor. <a href="http://www.infosyncworld.com/news/n/3163.html">Infosync has a writeup on this processor</a>. These are based on the ARM920T CPU core which means they are using the ARMv4 instruction set, just like the StrongARM chip, not the newer ARMv5 instruction set found in the X-Scale. <a href="http://www.arm.com/support/56VF7H/$File/ARMv6_Architecture.pdf">See here for more detailed information</a> on the ARMv4-v6 families. The 1930 series uses the same chip running at 203MHz.<br /><br />They all have 64MB of RAM, 56MB of which is usable. The 1940's have a 14MB File Store as well. I didn't see the ROM sizes of these devices. The 1940 series is also bluetooth equipped. Finally, these all have SDIO support. :clap: <br /><br />Next up is the <a href="https://svartifoss2.fcc.gov/cgi-bin/ws.exe/prod/oet/forms/reports/Search_Form.hts?mode=Edit&form=Exhibits&application_id=486984&fcc_id=NM8GREATWALLA">iPAQ 2200</a>, possibly the worst kept secret in recent PDA history. It has the Intel Cotulla 200MHz or 400MHz processor, depending on the model. If you Google that, you'll see that it too is based on the ARMv4 instruction set and appears to be a direct successor to the StrongARM. You can read more on the <a href="http://www.idg.net/idgns/2000/08/21/IDFIntelReadiesTwoNew.shtml">Intel Cotulla in this old article</a>. The 2200 also has 64MB of RAM, 32MB ROM, SDIO ready and bluetooth on some models.<br /><br />The most facinating thing about all of this is that it seems the X-Scale has been set aside. I don't know if it is performance related or if this is for lower end models and they are using X-Scale for more expensive devices in the 5400 range.<br /><br /><b>Update</b>: I am now not sure that the Cotulla isn't X-Scale technology. It may have been the original codeword for the X-Scale. I need to do additional research on that tonight. The Samsung is clearly using the ARMv4 code though.
__________________
text sig
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-29-2003, 12:52 AM
pschultz
Intellectual
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 216

Is there a link to the iPAQ 1940 on the FCC site? I would like to see what it will look like, or is it the same as the current 1900 series device?
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2003, 12:53 AM
felixdd
Philosopher
felixdd's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 555
Send a message via ICQ to felixdd Send a message via AIM to felixdd Send a message via MSN to felixdd Send a message via Yahoo to felixdd

Funny how the 2200's FCC site has a link to a "confidentiality request"
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-29-2003, 12:53 AM
entropy1980
Oracle
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 864

The silly thing maybe wemay see better performance from the 266mhz samsung than a 400mhz XScale.....seeing that the current crop of XScales barely if at all beats out the old 206 strongarm...
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-29-2003, 12:55 AM
entropy1980
Oracle
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 864

Quote:
Originally Posted by pschultz
Is there a link to the iPAQ 1940 on the FCC site? I would like to see what it will look like, or is it the same as the current 1900 series device?
It's the first link in the headline... it looks almost the same however they have made a black top on it, I would assume to differeniate from the 1910 and 1915....
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-29-2003, 12:59 AM
Kevin C. Tofel
Thinker
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 366

Quote:
Originally Posted by pschultz
Is there a link to the iPAQ 1940 on the FCC site? I would like to see what it will look like, or is it the same as the current 1900 series device?
You can see both devices on the FCC site....look through the PDF files and click on the one's titled "External Photos".

Having seen the photos, I'm curious: is it me or does the 2200 model look very similar to the Dell form factor? Looks like the same side grips, same power button (just in a different spot) and the alignment of the 4 "hot key" buttons is upside down.....hmmmm......

:?:

KCT
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-29-2003, 01:14 AM
sting0r
Ponderer
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 95

Very interesting, been reading through the manual of the IPAQ 1900's and it seems it has PocketPC 2003 Pro on it. The pictures look pretty similar to PocketPC 2002 though......
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-29-2003, 01:15 AM
kagayaki1
Thinker
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 361

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin C. Tofel
Quote:
Originally Posted by pschultz
Is there a link to the iPAQ 1940 on the FCC site? I would like to see what it will look like, or is it the same as the current 1900 series device?
You can see both devices on the FCC site....look through the PDF files and click on the one's titled "External Photos".

Having seen the photos, I'm curious: is it me or does the 2200 model look very similar to the Dell form factor? Looks like the same side grips, same power button (just in a different spot) and the alignment of the 4 "hot key" buttons is upside down.....hmmmm......

:?:

KCT
Yeah, but the dimensions don't match up.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-29-2003, 01:17 AM
powder2000
Thinker
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 469

Check out the users manual for the 2200 to see the "this program is not developed" image viewer :iamwithstupid: . Not two many changes in the OS from looking through the screenshots. That is if in fact these are running the new OS in the Users Manual.
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-29-2003, 01:21 AM
powder2000
Thinker
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 469

Also says 320 x 240 screen. :cry:
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:20 AM.