Windows Phone Thoughts - Daily News, Views, Rants and Raves

Check out the hottest Windows Mobile devices at our Expansys store!

Digital Home Thoughts

Loading feed...

Laptop Thoughts

Loading feed...

Android Thoughts

Loading feed...

Go Back   Thoughts Media Forums > WINDOWS PHONE THOUGHTS > Windows Phone Software

Old 02-28-2002, 08:54 PM
Jason Dunn
Executive Editor
Default Make music with Griff

http://www.planetgriff.com/galleria.php

One thing that thrills me about the Pocket PC is the sheer power it offers for developers to create mind-blowing apps. Griff is one such application: you'd never believe a Pocket PC could do all of this! I'm a musician, but I don't do any sampling/sequencing so most of this is above my head. Still, I recognize potential when I see it, and for some people, this is the killer app they've been waiting for.

"Griff is a Portable Music Studio for the PocketPC. Including Synths, Samplers, Effects (Reverb, Chorus, Delay, Flanger, Distortion), PianoRoll Sequencer and full automation Griff provides everything you need to compose anytime, anyplace. Griff Incorporates a Plugin architecture allowing developers to create new synths and effects. Griff Exports to WAV and MIDI."

There's a great PocketNow review of Griff worth reading if you'd like to learn more about how this program works. I installed it on an Casio EM-500 and it was quite slow - this app really needs the 206 Mhz StrongARM juice to keep it moving quick.

Old 02-28-2002, 09:08 PM
tekguru
Ponderer

Looks like we're all at it, the Tekguru review is at:

http://www.tekguru.co.uk/PPC_Reviews/griff/index.htm

Old 02-28-2002, 09:09 PM
brntcrsp
Thinker

I love to see apps like this. I just wish that PhoenixStudio would work on ARM machines. http://www.pocketgear.com/software_detail.asp?id=2754. This app was posted on PPCT a long time ago. and I looked into it. Held lots of promise, but just completely disappeared after it's initial release.

Old 02-28-2002, 10:10 PM
Dave Conger
Sage