Zune Thoughts

Zune Thoughts.com

Thanks for visiting Zune Thoughts - be sure to register in our forums!


Laptop Thoughts

Loading feed...

Windows Phone Thoughts

Loading feed...

Digital Home Thoughts

Loading feed...




Go Back   Thoughts Media Forums > ZUNE THOUGHTS > Zune Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2007, 03:47 PM
Jason Dunn
Executive Editor
Jason Dunn's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29,160
Default Zune 30 Firmware Update: Old is Made New

<div class='os_post_top_link'><a href='http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pEKUVebnxH4' target='_blank'>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pEKUVebnxH4</a><br /><br /></div>What's going to happen when you install the new Zune software (which should come out tomorrow for general download) and you dock your old Zune 30? This video has all the details...let's just say you'll look at your Zune in a whole new way! I can't say enough about this: the Zune team did a great thing for Zune owners by allowing this firmware update to improve their old devices. I imagine many Zune owners will be interested in the new hardware, but this software updates the Zune in nearly every way - all for free. Would Apple do that for its customers? No way. Go Zune!<br /><br /><embed width="425" height="355" wmode="transparent" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" src="http://www.youtube.com/v/pEKUVebnxH4&amp;rel=1"></embed>
__________________
Want to contact me personally? Use this. Want to read my personal blog? Check it out. Want to follow me on Twitter? Here you go.
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2007, 08:47 PM
Tevin
Neophyte
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1

dang gimmie gimmie more of it i want to see how the rating system in everything is lol THANKS ANYWAY!
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2007, 10:13 PM
enjoythemusic
Pupil
enjoythemusic's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 40

Jason,

With the new firmware, is the Zune 30 also seen (and can be used) as a simple external HD by a computer or car radio with USB input?
</EMBED>
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2007, 10:42 PM
Jason Dunn
Executive Editor
Jason Dunn's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29,160

Quote:
Originally Posted by enjoythemusic View Post
With the new firmware, is the Zune 30 also seen (and can be used) as a simple external HD by a computer or car radio with USB input?
No, none of the Zunes can't connect to a PC and be seen as a hard drive. I'm working on a front-page post about this now. Nothing has changed there unfortunately. Not sure about the car radio with a USB input...I kind of doubt it if it's based upon a mass storage mount system.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-12-2007, 10:43 PM
Ambush510
Neophyte
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1

lookin forward to the new firmware
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-12-2007, 11:05 PM
mrozema
Intellectual
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 242

The current Zune 30 firmware hasn't let me access it with my car stereo system either. I guess just looks for a mass storage device as Jason guessed.

I can't wait for the new firmware to show itself publicly!
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-12-2007, 11:09 PM
Adam Krebs
Contributing Editor
Adam Krebs's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 519

Why didn't your Zune30 show up as the correct picture on the software? It seems to think your Zune30 is a Zune80...
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-12-2007, 11:13 PM
Jason Dunn
Executive Editor
Jason Dunn's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 29,160

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam Krebs View Post
Why didn't your Zune30 show up as the correct picture on the software? It seems to think your Zune30 is a Zune80...
Not sure. Just connected it again and it comes up with the correct picture for the Zune 30. I miss the double-shot effect actually.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-12-2007, 11:26 PM
Invisiblemoose
Neophyte
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4

Hey, nice vid. A question about the new software...

Does the registry hack still work, that allows the software to handle .AVI files? Or are they now natively supported, and thus the hack isn't needed?

Oh, and is auto-sync enabled by default? Because I no longer have the 200gigs of uncompressed .avi's on my hard-drive, so the auto-sync would remove everything off my Zune, and I'd be spending days re-encoding everything. (Yes, this has happened, just not on such a catastrophic scale.)

THANKS!
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-12-2007, 11:40 PM
mrozema
Intellectual
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 242

Do the new Zunes have the double shot effect, or are they a solid plastic now?
Sounds like maybe they don't...
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:51 PM.