Windows Phone Thoughts - Daily News, Views, Rants and Raves

Check out the hottest Windows Mobile devices at our Expansys store!


Digital Home Thoughts

Loading feed...

Laptop Thoughts

Loading feed...

Android Thoughts

Loading feed...




Go Back   Thoughts Media Forums > WINDOWS PHONE THOUGHTS > Windows Phone Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2012, 06:07 PM
Richard Chao
Contributing Editor
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 109
Default Skype For Windows Phone Now Available In Beta Form

<div class='os_post_top_link'><a href='http://www.pocket-lint.com/news/44641/skype-for-windows-phone-pictures' target='_blank'>http://www.pocket-lint.com/news/446...-phone-pictures</a><br /><br /></div><p><em>"...Pocket-lint caught up with our pals from Skype who were keen to show off the brand spanking new Windows Phone 7 app for the VoIP platform."</em></p><p><img height="400" src="http://images.thoughtsmedia.com/resizer/thumbs/size/600/wpt/auto/1330362172.usr117680.jpg" style="border: 1px solid #d2d2bb;" width="600" /></p><p>Microsoft announced the availability of Skype Beta for Windows Phone at Mobile World Congress today. &nbsp;The beta can be downloaded directly from the Market Place and will run on the following handsets: Lumia 710, Lumia 800, HTC Titan, Htc Radar, Samsung Focus S and Samsung Focus Flash.</p><p>If you have one of these phones head to the Market Place on your phone and give it a try. &nbsp;</p>
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-27-2012, 08:06 PM
Sven Johannsen
Editorial Contributor
Sven Johannsen's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,411

Runs fine on my Focus and HD7 too. Don't have a front camera, but I can carry a mirror Video chat does work, though the screens seem wrong to me. My view takes up the whole screen, and the distant end shows in a small inset. Don't know if that is a bug, or an artifact of my not having a front camera.

If someone installs this on something else, post back if it works right for you, distant end big, you in the inset.

P.S. was doing the video over 3G, not WiFi. Voice sounded fine with it.
__________________
Sometimes you are the anteater, sometimes you are the ant.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-27-2012, 11:51 PM
virain
Philosopher
virain's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 554
Send a message via MSN to virain

I have Focus Flash, but I can't find Skype in the market place!
__________________
You create your opportunities by asking for them
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-28-2012, 10:53 AM
BrunoH
Neophyte
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Default Works fine in Samsung Omnia 7 to

Called a Lumia 800 owner yesterday. Worked fine
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-28-2012, 10:20 PM
Sven Johannsen
Editorial Contributor
Sven Johannsen's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,411

Quote:
Originally Posted by virain View Post
I have Focus Flash, but I can't find Skype in the market place!
Its one of those things you need to find the ink somewhere, like here
http://www.windowsphone.com/en-US/ap...b-c0a3f4360a51
__________________
Sometimes you are the anteater, sometimes you are the ant.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-02-2012, 10:52 PM
TheBigCheese
Pupil
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11
Default No background?

I read that Skype can't run in the background and won't even with the next release because if built in limitations of Windows Phone. Can this really be true? Is WP7 really that limited?
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:35 PM.