Windows Phone Thoughts - Daily News, Views, Rants and Raves

Check out the hottest Windows Mobile devices at our Expansys store!

Digital Home Thoughts

Loading feed...

Laptop Thoughts

Loading feed...

Android Thoughts

Loading feed...

Go Back   Thoughts Media Forums > WINDOWS PHONE THOUGHTS > Windows Phone Talk

Old 06-28-2011, 07:00 PM
Todd Allcock
Editorial Contributor
Default Losing My Religion...

I read a tweet today complaining there isn't any good Bible software for Windows Phone 7 yet, and the (admittedly bizarre) first thought that came to my mind was "I guess you'll just have to switch to a supported religion..."

I guess that above is what, in the publishing biz, we call a "hook," but I'm new to all this, and I admit a little bit giddy about it in a hero-worship sort of way. I'm honored to have been asked by Jason Dunn to write the occasional musing here at Windows Phone Thoughts. I'm currently a Microsoft Windows Phone MVP, and I've been using Windows-based handhelds since the turn of the century (I love using that phrase- it makes me sound like my grandfather.) I go back to the ancient days of non-wireless PDAs that we'd sync to our PCs once or twice a day, and browse offline web pages copied from our PCs with software called AvantGo, a sort of precursor to the modern RSS feed.

One of those "channels" AvantGo offered, was a technology news site called "Pocket PC Thoughts" and I was sure to read it every day to keep up with the goings-on in the wonderful world of Windows-based handhelds, and I've followed it ever since. Being asked to contribute to it after reading it for all these years is sort of like going to a Who concert and having Pete Townshend grab you and ask if you'd like to sit in and jam on a song or two. (I'm showing my age now, aren't I?).