View Full Version : Vetran PPC user with basic Smartphone questions

brianchris
03-01-2006, 12:03 AM
Although I'm a veteran PPC user (including using the new and spectacular 8125), my wife has purchased and is really enjoying the 2125 Smartphone. She expects me to know a lot about the device, as she doesn't understand they are different operating systems.

So, I'll use this thread to ask some (shockingly) basic questions, starting with:

-Can you have a permanent shortcut on the home screen (say, to the calculator)? I know the home screen lists the last five or so apps used, but she wants a permanent shortcut or two on the home screen....is this possible?

-Homescreen designer looks awsome, but it doesn't seem to be compatible with WM5....any alternatives?

-Ringtones CAN be stored on the storage card, as long as they are placed in a user created directory called: \Storage Card\Application Data\Sounds.....correct?

-I know there is a dock with large speakers that is said to be compatible with the 2125 ( http://www.smartphonethoughts.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=66585 ), but is there a smaller, more traditional cradle for this phone yet? If not, any hope of one becoming availible?

-How about the avabilility of a car charger? I've heard chatter that the SMT5600 car charger should work fine, but I'd rather have some consensus before I risk frying her phone.

That's it for now, but I'm sure there will be more questions soon....thanks in advance!

Mike Temporale
03-01-2006, 02:23 AM
Although I'm a veteran PPC user (including using the new and spectacular 8125), my wife has purchased and is really enjoying the 2125 Smartphone. She expects me to know a lot about the device, as she doesn't understand they are different operating systems.

Your wife has a great phone there. Some would say it's an amazing phone, what with the hump and all. ;)