View Full Version : Hey Lightroom Users: Raw or DNG?

Jason Dunn
12-18-2009, 06:10 AM
<p>Using Lightroom? I started playing with the 3.0 beta tonight - I'm still using 2.x day to day - and I noticed that in the 3.0 beta they've defaulted to converting to DNG upon import. You can change the default so the raw files are imported, but I found it interesting they've defaulted to DNG. I have virtually no experience with DNG - I always import raw, export to JPEG, then archive my catalog with the files staying in raw format. So I wanted to put this out to any Digital Home Thoughts readers who are using Lightroom. Do you use DNG? If so, why? What are the advantages over keeping your images in raw format?</p>

rlobrecht
12-18-2009, 01:41 PM
Adobe has committed to keeping the DNG format around (can't find a link offhand.) Nikon and Canon tweak their RAW format every new body or two.

How long will software continue to import D80 NEF files?

NeilE
12-18-2009, 04:48 PM
There's no real advantage and it's increases your import time dramatically. It's not like Adobe is going to stop supporting NEF or CR2. That'd be like stopping support for JPEG.

Neil

Jason Dunn
12-18-2009, 05:44 PM
Adobe has committed to keeping the DNG format around (can't find a link offhand.) Nikon and Canon tweak their RAW format every new body or two. How long will software continue to import D80 NEF files?

Right - future compatibility is the thing I knew about...but I was wondering if there were any other advantages. Also, Nikon isn't changing the D80 NEF format, so if Lightroom supports it today, it would support it five years from now, right? Unless they dropped support for it from the product...which I guess is the potential danger.

ptyork
12-18-2009, 08:57 PM
Jason, thanks as always for making me take a closer look at things I generally ignore. You have a wonderful way of making me waste time. ;) I found this really informative site:

http://www.barrypearson.co.uk/articles/dng/index.htm