View Full Version : Need help with home theater setup!

lily8656
06-19-2008, 02:24 AM
I'm very new to Home Theater Systems, and pretty much all A/V applications. However, I really enjoy movies, and have a lot. I'm looking for a good way to store them safely, play them, and have the capability for expansion. There seems to be a lot of information out there and many different products. I've read a lot about Control4 and Escient, notably the Escient SE-D1/Sony DVP-CX777ES 400 capacity system combination.

My basic needs are to have my over 200 DVDs safely stored, and eventually be able to access them on the tv screen from a catalogue type system (such as DVDlobby). My questions are as follows...

What would be the most basic system I could use from Escient (or any other quality comparable brand) to be able to display my movies on the screen in this way? What other components would I need besides the disc changer and the Escient system (keyboard, etc).

Does the Escient system read ripp-ed DVDs? If not, it's not a big deal, but I have a few backups of my originals, and the originals now have scratches on them so I rely on the backups I made. Would it recognize the info on these so I could view them along with the rest, and if not, could I input that information manually?

I've read a lot about programs like DVDLobby, but it seems most components like Escient come with their own catalogue device. Is there a cheaper type of box that I am missing that would load this software?

I would greatly appreciate any reviews on either product or ANY similar products, suggestions of what I should look at/purchase, or any general advice.

Thanks in advance!!

Jason Dunn
06-19-2008, 02:49 PM