View Full Version : My laptop is dead

Joelacrane
07-31-2007, 06:04 AM
Well, my laptop is finally dead. The power connector was unreliable, so I took it apart and soldered it back onto the board. Upon reassembling it it will not boot, just a black screen. I feel retarded for messing with it.

It may have been just an old Pentium 2, but that laptop got used more and pushed harder than any laptop I've ever seen. My friends with their brand new laptops don't use them nearly as much as I used my old Tecra.

So now, I have to fall back onto my Axim for a mobile computer until I figure out a way to obtain another laptop. Any suggestions? I'm a student. It needs to be able to run Windows XP smoothly, thats just about my only requirement.

Any sympathy would be appreciated.

Cybrid
07-31-2007, 06:22 AM
Well, my laptop is finally dead. The power connector was unreliable, so I took it apart and soldered it back onto the board. Upon reassembling it it will not boot, just a black screen. I feel retarded for messing with it.

It may heve been just an old Pentium 2, but that laptop got used more and pushed harder than any laptop I've ever seen. Noonne, not even my friends with brand new laptops take advantage of them like I did with mine.

So now, I have to fall back onto my Axim for a mobile computer until I figure out a way to obtain another laptop. Any suggestions?

I'm a student. A laptop needs to be able to run Windows XP Home.

Any sympathy would be appriciated.Dude, that sux... :(
Consider it a learning experience...I've broken a few repairs myself and gotten better as I got some experience. :)
Take it apart again and start component testing. See if your solder is shorting something.

Joelacrane
08-01-2007, 01:48 AM