View Full Version : annoying first post...... which PDA for me????

georgiemd
07-09-2007, 07:35 PM
I apologise for posting this usual question...NOT! I am a complete PDA novice but I need a device that will fit the following description....

I have multibrand retail fashion stores. I need a PDA to take with me when I order clothing from suppliers. I need to be able to take digital photos and correspond them to an excel spread sheet in real time. So it needs to...

1) be small and very portable

2) run excel (i am planning on doing spreadsheets of my orders so I can stick to a budget)

3) sync with both Mac and PC

4) have a digital camera (and I can add text to an image as i take it) and be able to embed an image into excel??? can that be done?

5) wi-fi enabled. it will be my internet connection when I am away from home.

i have looked at the Palm range... they look great but NO digi camera!

any suggestions please. I don't want to carry 2 devices and sync them via cables or Bluetooth. I have to minimise my gadgets!

yours in desparation

george d (copenhagen, denmark)

Dale Daniels
07-10-2007, 01:12 AM
I recommend the AT&T 8525. It has a bit better camera but it is still limited to 2mp. The standard seems to be 1.3 mp. It has wifi Bluetooth and is 3G capable. It also lets you edit Excel which many Smartphones do not.

georgiemd
07-10-2007, 06:12 AM
thanks dale

i'll check it out.... i'm not sure if AT&T is available in europe though.

george

Dale Daniels
07-10-2007, 06:40 AM
HTC is the manufacturer of these phones. Look for an unlocked HTC Hermes and that should do the trick.

Nurhisham Hussein
07-10-2007, 07:10 AM
Look for an unlocked HTC Hermes and that should do the trick.

In Europe, it would be called the HTC TyTn.

Darius Wey
07-10-2007, 07:34 AM
George, bear in mind that the aforementioned suggestion is a phone-enabled PDA, although it's still usable without a SIM installed.