View Full Version : WM Team Blog: "Why Did We Remove Bluetooth DUN?"

Janak Parekh
04-18-2007, 09:00 PM
<div class='os_post_top_link'><a href='http://blogs.msdn.com/windowsmobile/archive/2007/04/17/why-did-we-remove-bluetooth-dun.aspx' target='_blank'>http://blogs.msdn.com/windowsmobile...etooth-dun.aspx</a><br /><br /></div><i>"I'm Greg Scott and I work as a developer on a team that provides core networking technologies on Windows Mobile. There has been some [negative] feedback from the community about Bluetooth dial-up networking (DUN) being removed in WM5 AKU3. I'll do my best to explain that."</i><br /><br />A good article from Greg as to why we should look <b>forward</b> to Bluetooth PAN devices. Ironically, just as they're readding DUN back to WM6, Apple's newest OS release, 10.4.9, adds PAN to its Bluetooth stack, so one of the major reasons to reintroduce it is gone. Personally, I think PAN is the way of the future -- but, in general, it's always better to accommodate your users and gradually remove technologies, as opposed to the complete switch made in WM5 AKU3. (Oh, and note to Microsoft: I'd <b>love</b> to use PAN, but Palm never released AKU3 for my 700w. :roll:)

Chris Spera
04-18-2007, 09:39 PM
...(Oh, and note to Microsoft: I'd love to use PAN, but Palm never released AKU3 for my 700w. :roll:)

...and I don't know that you'd WANT to use PAN on a 700w. With its limited amount of memory, its so poor, it can't afford to pay attention. Besides, I don't think VzW would even let you use PAN to communicate with non-VzW devices on their network. They won't let you use DUN (without paying an extra fee...right? Its been a few years since I was a VzW customer, so I can't remember if they implemented that fee or not) on their network.

Menneisyys
04-18-2007, 09:55 PM
Crossposting my post I've sent there: