View Full Version : Any phones have 640x480?

magoomba
11-26-2006, 01:52 PM
Newbie here.
I want to get a Windows Mobile phone, but I want one that has VGA display.
So far I have only found 2 that meet the criteria.
1. Dopod 900
2. Sharp W-ZERO

The Dopod is too big. The Sharp is a bit smaller but not available in North America.

Any other suggestions?
Thanks.

Sven Johannsen
11-26-2006, 08:56 PM
Any special reason that is your primary requirement? It's not as though you typically get four times as much stuff on the display as you do on a 320x240 display. You generally get pretty close to the same picture but rendered with 4 times as many pixels.

Granted it is sharper. The typical 320x240 phone device, with the typically smaller screen, is pretty sharp too. 320x240 on a 4" screen might be marginal, but on a 2.7 in screen, like a K-Jam, it is pretty good.

Nurhisham Hussein
11-27-2006, 01:35 AM
2. Sharp W-ZERO

Plus it has a Japanese OS and no way to change it.

You might want to check out the O2 Flame (http://www.pocketpcthoughts.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=52574&highlight=), which is due out soon, and there's also the HTC Omni (HTC Universal/Dopod 900 replacement) which is rumoured to be in the works and should be released by Q1 2007, but it's also rumoured to have a retail price of US$1300++.

magoomba
11-27-2006, 02:50 AM
Any special reason that is your primary requirement? It's not as though you typically get four times as much stuff on the display as you do on a 320x240 display. You generally get pretty close to the same picture but rendered with 4 times as many pixels.

Granted it is sharper. The typical 320x240 phone device, with the typically smaller screen, is pretty sharp too. 320x240 on a 4" screen might be marginal, but on a 2.7 in screen, like a K-Jam, it is pretty good.

Oh I was just thinking with a VGA screen, the PDA phone could eliminate the need for getting a PMP device.