View Full Version : which pocket pc for me

baileyalice
07-16-2006, 08:35 PM
Hi all,

I am new to the pocket pc world, well I have not even entered it yet, I am in the process of considering getting a pocket pc, but I am at a total loss of where to start.
Basically I would like a pocket pc that would be able to do the following.
Connect wirelessly to the internet.
Allow me to surf the internet not massive amounts. I don't really want to download anything.
Use microsoft word and excel or an equivalent.
check hotmail emails and reply to them.
and maybe use msn messenger, but that is only as an added extra.

This may seem really easy stuff and maybe they all do it but if some one could point me in the right direction for a pocket pc it would be much appreciated.

So any suggestions of which one would meet my needs would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Bailey

JesterMania
07-16-2006, 09:23 PM
Hi, welcome to the forums! Do you want to include phone support? There are your standard Pocket PCs and ones called Pocket PC Phones, which basically a Pocket PC and a phone all in one.

baileyalice
07-16-2006, 09:53 PM
Hi,

Thank you for replying, I am not bothered about having phone support on it.
that was part of my confusion as I had seen phone ones and wasn't sure if I got one of them if I would have a monthly fee included. Which is something I definantley don't want.

Thanks

Bailey

JesterMania
07-16-2006, 10:47 PM
Getting one with phone support doesn't mean you automatically have a "fee". It's no different than buying a different cell phone if you have one already. Since you're not interested in having phone support, here goes...

"Connect wirelessly to the internet."

Look for ones which support 802.11b/g Wi-Fi.

"Use microsoft word and excel or an equivalent."