View Full Version : Registry Tweaks!!! Are they Safe?

coosbaytv
07-07-2006, 04:18 AM
Hey there! I am new to PPC here and come from a Palm OS background.

I must say, there are some things that I am really enjoying with this IPAQ 1930 device I aquired.

One of your forum members (John John) was kind enough to give me a great deal on a wifi card and I am in awe of streaming video and audio on this little gem!

One of the tweaks I am interested in is changing IE to the 6.0 setting from 4.1. This is supposed to allow you a more PC like surfing experience.

The other Registry Edit I am curious about is with the audio codecs for Skype. There is info on the Skype forum to allow a 200 MHZ device (mine) to use Skype for PPC.

So, that said, I really don't want to CRASH this thing, so my question is generally are these things safe? Obviously, I am not talking about editing the registry on my own and "playing with settings", but using these tweaks by folks who know what they are doing...

Any experiences (pro or con) with reg edit tweaks?

I want alot of feedback on this so feel free to share your experience!

Am I just a baby and need to not strees about this or are these things to be taken very cautiously?

Thanks, Jay

Janak Parekh
07-07-2006, 05:10 AM
Of course, registry tweaking if done incorrectly can cause instabilities in your device; if you decide to do something, make sure to backup first. It's not hard, but you do have to be careful.

If you don't want to tweak the registry directly, you may want to consider acquiring a program that does it for you, like Tweaks2k2 (http://www.tweaks2k2.com/).

--janak

coosbaytv
07-07-2006, 05:20 AM
Janak:

thanks for the quick info.

I am using the app PHM reg edit with explicit directions only on the modifications that I want to make that I mentioned in the post.

As far as backup, I really don't have anything of value on the IPQA, my concern is more of destroying it via a bad choice beyond a hard reset.