View Full Version : Best PPC Personal Finance Package

Toad
03-06-2006, 04:18 AM
Hi People:

This is my first post here. I have been using PDAs (Psion, PALM) for about 15 years, but have just bought my first PPC (Dell Axim X51V).

One of the applications that I require in the very short term is a personal finance manager. On Palm I used PMT, which is a fine application, but does not have a PPC version and does not offer much in the way of export functionality (some cryptic CSV files only).

I have been doing my research. The ones that look good to me are (in no particular order):

1. Cash Organizer 05
2. SPB Finance
3. Pocket Quicken

I do not currently have a desktop finance package so compatibility is not currently an issue. I don't mind buying a desktop package, but I would rather not be totally tied to one - where I cannot use the PPC application without the desktop app.

You guys seem to know what you are talking about. Recommendations? Pros? Cons? What do you like and not like?

Thanks in advance
Toad

Nurhisham Hussein
03-06-2006, 08:14 AM
I can't speak for the others, but I found Cash Organiser meets my needs very well - as a matter of fact, it's probably more a little more than I need. Even after three months, I'm still uncovering how to use it properly, in the sense of getting the absolute most out of it.

Toad
03-06-2006, 01:53 PM
How do you find its export facilities? Can you alter what you export to say excel, and is the export file readble?

At end of year, can you archive a copy of you year's data so that you can later access it, or do you just let the data accumulate?

Nurhisham Hussein
03-06-2006, 03:07 PM
I've never done an export before - just tried it. It exports to four different formats - Quicken, Pocket Excel, Windows text, and Unicode text. There's a warning about different date fields in Quicken and MS Money that you may need to cater for.