View Full Version : Looking to replace my iPAQ rx3115...

bdc
02-05-2006, 05:11 AM
I'm a college student. I recently purchased a rx3115 which has turned out to be a major mistake. :( I love it's capabilities...mp3, dvd, etc, but hate it won't upgrade to Windows 5.0. Plus my laptop is the biggest piece of crap(btw why what should I expect it's an old eMachine!!) and won't run WMP 9. So I can't even use the capabilities I'd love to use. Also my college's internet sucks and takes forever to download upgrades. That said I need some help in picking out a new one. I'm reselling my rx3115 and hoping to make back the $200 I wasted on it. :cry:
I loved the capabilites of the rx3115...bluetooth wireless, mp3 player, dvd, but I also want to be able to use Compact Flash. I'm looking at spending around a little over $300 and if I'm lucky again finding it on Ebay. Been looking at the rx1955, but it doesn't have a CF slot. Please respond and thanks for ALL advice :werenotworthy:

Brian :D

Pdaholic
02-05-2006, 06:45 AM
Have you used WM5.0? It's not the holy grail, and on my Jasjar it is s-l-o-w. The only benefit I see is it keeps all my data safe in case of battery failure, that's all. Not worth it, imo.

Why do you have to have WMP9 to play music or DVDs on your iPaq? Here's my advice. Keep the rx3115, and save the cash to buy a big 2gb sd card (120 bucks if you shop right) and an sd card reader (what, 10 bucks?). Transfer your videos and mp3s to the card and play them back with TCPMP (free).

Sorry if I'm misunderstanding you, but I don't see what you would gain with another PDA--except for the CF card slot, not worth spending another $300!

bdc
02-05-2006, 06:56 AM