View Full Version : Can you help me choose a PDA please.

Risky Biz
01-19-2006, 04:48 PM
I hope this is the right place for such a post but please delete if not.

I've started a new job and I'm required to travel around to our European offices for tons of meetings. I'm new to this industry (I'm an accountant by trade and I'm moving into Risk Management) and therefore have a ton of reading to do on the subject in general. Besides this I keep several personal spreadsheets tracking various things that I'd like to be able to update on my commute rather than waste family time in the evening. Also, I'd like to plan my day in the diary on the commute to work and not have to do it when I get in.

I'm looking for a PDA that will enable me to read lengthy documents, draft e-mails, make meeting notes and have a decent calendar - it must be able to sync with MSOffice because that's what we use at work.

I'm basically after the PDA that's the next best thing to a laptop by the looks of it! It doesn't need to be a phone as well. I understand that I can't get 'live' e-mail like on a blackberry and that's not a big deal as long as I can sync with outlook when I get home or to the office.

Please could you advise the best thing around at the moment to suit those needs?

Thanks for any help you can give me.

Again, if this isn't the purpose of this forum please delete away.

Constant Caffeine
01-19-2006, 06:39 PM
There are many PDA’s to choose from. Your needs in a PDA suggest that you will want to have one that has room for storage growth. You will want to make sure that it has a compact flash or secure digital expansion slot. This will allow you to purchase addition storage in the event the PDA runs out of initial storage.