View Full Version : text to speech, any plugin or something?

Mahmood
01-03-2006, 05:53 PM
Hi

Can I find a plug in or something to "text-to-speech" a text document or an ebook?

hamishmacdonald
01-03-2006, 07:26 PM
TranCreative's excellent WordBook dictionary has a plug-in that provides text-to-speech in many applications. I'm sure it won't work in Microsoft Reader, though.

WordBook:
http://www.trancreative.com/wordbook.aspx

SteveHoward999
01-03-2006, 10:30 PM
This is the closest I know of

http://www.handango.com/PlatformProductDetail.jsp?siteId=1&jid=XC6944X91C3EB58FFEX9B4E11C8E4C78&platformId=2&N=96806&productId=157638&R=157638

Fonix Voice Central.

Don't think it will do all you want though.

Incidentally I am exploring using one of Fonix' software tools to build a training application that uses text-to-speech. If enough people are interested (i.e. there might be a real market for it) I might try to make a tts book reader. I'm new to PDA development so it might take a little while.

Mahmood
01-04-2006, 07:41 AM
Thanks for replies

Cybrid
01-04-2006, 08:11 AM
The Toshiba E-8xx series has an OEM installed text to speech solution....Who makes that?

Voice Command and Text to Speech
Now this is pretty neat, and not only that, it's useful! The e805 and its little brother the e405 come with Toshiba's Voice Command and Text to Speech applications. Simply install these from the included CDROM and you're on your way to having meaningful dialogs with your Pocket PC. The Text to Speech application requires about 5 megs of space and the Voice Command takes under 1 meg.

http://www.mobiletechreview.com/toshiba_e805.htm

Tye
01-04-2006, 09:52 PM
Incidentally I am exploring using one of Fonix' software tools to build a training application that uses text-to-speech. If enough people are interested (i.e. there might be a real market for it) I might try to make a tts book reader. I'm new to PDA development so it might take a little while.