View Full Version : Connecting to ActiveSync Online. Possible?

Spud
12-27-2005, 04:42 PM
Is there a way to connect to my ActiveSync running on my PC from the internet? Is there some sort of server software you can run on your pc so that if your away from home you can still access ActiveSync on your pc via WiFi on a PPC using someone elses internet connection or hotspot?

I'm a bit of a newbie with PPC's so I don't know the correct term or lingo for what I am asking. I've searched on the forum for 'ActiveSync Server' and 'ActiveSync Online' and not got the results I'm after.

Sorry if this has been asked before.

haesslich
12-27-2005, 07:05 PM
Not with Windows Mobile 5 and ActiveSync 4, you won't. I do recall that Activesync 3.x let you use WiFi to sync over the network, but I don't recall it allowing one to be away from home to sync that way. But you'd be better off checking with one of the gurus on this matter.

Janak Parekh
12-27-2005, 07:33 PM
haesslich has the basic gist of it. ActiveSync versions 3.8 and below support "LAN sync", which is primarily designed to be used over a single network, but can be made to work over the Internet. However, Microsoft has decided there are security issues with this approach, and has disabled it until it can be redesigned. Therefore, ActiveSync 4.1 (which is what you need to use for WM5 devices) does not have LAN sync.

What are you trying to accomplish? The "best practice" for ActiveSync 4.1 (or, actually, for any version) use over the Internet is to use Exchange Server sync -- i.e., not to your PC, but to a server designed for the task. That can be done securely, and is fully supported for Internet sync scenarios, but it requires you to have an Exchange Server account, which can either be done via a corporate install or via third-party hosted Exchange accounts for a subscription fee.

--janak

Spud
12-27-2005, 10:26 PM