View Full Version : Bought an e830...need advice please

fab
11-13-2005, 07:03 PM
Hello...I'm a ppc newbie. I just bought an e830 demo unit for pretty cheap but I have some concerns/questions.

I have to say the screen is amazing, esp after having used a Visor Edge for years. The wifi works fine but I don't have any BT devices yet (I'm planning to get a BT cellphone). It seems fast and the screen is...wow.

I know Toshiba has pulled out of the handheld market so I am a little concerned about support. I've read through the archives and i know some people have had huge problems with Toshiba. Are there any e830 users that are happy with their purchase?

Am I crazy for buying an obsolete, used (albeit cheap) ppc?
I think I need some help before I finalise this puchase. TIA

SteveHoward999
11-13-2005, 10:50 PM
I have an E830 which I had to buy on eBay from Canada, since Toshiba would not sell it here in the USA. It works great. Any problems I have are self-inflicted and have nothing to do with machine issues.

My biggest complaint is that the bluetooth drivers do not support external keyboards. Probably my only complaint, in fact ...

I prefer to use the full resolution of the screen all the time, so I installed SE_VGA so I can set the screen to true VGA. Makes a BIG difference. Only one or two apps do not at least partially support VGA, for instance Skype is kind of unhappy with it. It is just a matter of a quick reboot to change resolution if required.

If you are worried about support ... well maybe it's not the device for you as you will probably get none from Toshiba. You can usually find experts who can help though.

Nurhisham Hussein
11-14-2005, 02:24 AM
Sorry OT, but...

My biggest complaint is that the bluetooth drivers do not support external keyboards. Probably my only complaint, in fact ...