View Full Version : I need alot of advice and help

Chris112
10-20-2005, 01:59 AM
Hi everyone,

I am new to the pocket pc world and am interested in getting a started. I am looking for a good unit that will allow a GPS unit to be installed on it. I dont have alot of money to invest, but do understand that its not cheap. If anyone can point me in the right direction to a good pocket pc that is reasonablely priced and one that will be compatable with a navi. Is a garmain unit with built in Navi the best/cheapest route? Or is putting together your own combo better? Please help me out.

Thanks alot!

Chris

Darius Wey
10-20-2005, 06:28 AM
I'd say an integrated GPS unit would be the easiest route, though in most cases, don't expect it to feature the best specs in the market. Garmin, Navman and Mio devices all tend to have standard processor speeds, RAM and ROM sizes, QVGA screens, with integrated GPS. The upcoming Fujitsu-Siemens N series will feature GPS. The low-end models are comparable to the aforementioned, though rumour is the high-end models will feature some really nice specs, so it's worth looking out for those when they're released.

If you're not after an integrated unit, you can always purchase a separate Pocket PC (one that's to your liking) and then purchase a Bluetooth GPS unit or a CompactFlash GPS card. Since there aren't a lot of CompactFlash Pocket PCs in the market, I think the Bluetooth unit would be the better option, though be wary that some Pocket PCs are starting to ship without Bluetooth (e.g. the iPAQ rx1950). But I don't think Bluetooth will die off anytime soon, so a Bluetooth GPS unit will probably allow you to continue using it a few years down the track if/when you choose to upgrade your Pocket PC.

One other advantage to purchasing a Bluetooth GPS unit is that some companies package it with mapping software -- effectively saving you the extra time searching for a suitable software package.