View Full Version : The quagmire that is eVB, eVC, C, C++, .NET ...

SteveHoward999
09-20-2005, 02:05 AM
I am looking for some advice and assistance in making the right choice for developing an application for PPC.

First a little background - I am a multimedia developer and have been for about 8 years. I am an experienced programmer, but I am a total novice when it comes to Win32 development. I need to produce something for my Masters theses that will run on a PPC. I have the experience to build most of what I need using Macromedia's Flash, but I must have a lower-level layer to communicate with a software API that contains functionality Flash just cannot do.

So - I get the SDK and the help files. Help files say it has SDK for C, C++ and VB for WinCE. I presume at this point that WinCE is intended as a generic term that includes PocketPC - since I made it clear I am developing for PPC ;-)

All the info I have says that if I am developing for Windows Mobile 2003 I should be using .NET. Windows Mobile 5 is absolutely NOT in the equation here.

Obviously that leaves me with the various language flavours in .NET ... but what about my special API (it's for voice recognition and text to speech) - will it simply work with .NET, or am I going to run into problems?

If I am going to run into problems, then should I just bite the bullet and use eVB or similar? If so, then where on earth can I get the eVB toolkit, as I have not been able to track it down on MSDN ... I never manage to find what I need there :-(

Yes I can ask the developers of the API and the SDK -and in fact I have - but they are slow to respond and I would like an answer now if possible, becuase I am impatient, late in getting started with the development cycle and impatient. Did I mention I am impatient?

TIA

Nurhisham Hussein
09-21-2005, 06:03 AM