View Full Version : Best GPS Navigation Software?

glc650
09-16-2005, 05:42 AM
Hello Pocket PC Thoughts community,

I'm new to GPS and PDA and looking for the best GPS navigation software for the Pocket PC platform. I've been reading as many reveiws and forums as I can find, but I'm just not sure which software to purchase - there's just so many. Any recommendations?

Thanks in advance...

-g.

Mik
09-16-2005, 12:14 PM
I guess it depends where in the world you are and the map coverage where you want to use it.

I always liked tomtom and as I had a old version, the recent €69 upgrade to full European Maps was the one for me. I have subscribed to tomtom traffic in the UK (ability to download realtime traffic info and overlay onto the map) as well as have the safety camera database loaded (warns when I'm near speed camera) and use the software daily. I'm running it on a HP6515 with built in GPS.

My vote go's for tomtom 5 for map coverage, features and the add-on's

cml
09-16-2005, 12:52 PM
Mik is defintely correct. It depends on where you live. I have heard great things about TomTom in Europe. It seems OK in the US, but Mapopolis has been better for me where I've used it (up and down either US coast). I used another package that people had raved about on-line, but it placed my home address over a half-mile away from where it should have been. Best bet is to go with a package that allows a trial and use it where you'll need it most to see how it matches up.

glc650
09-16-2005, 01:29 PM
Thanks for the replies....

I'm located in the USA, on the west coast, and that's where I do 100% of my driving. Which software has the best California coverage?

Mik, yea, I've noticed TomTom gets lots of praise in general, but more so in Europe, which is why I'm a little hesitant.

cml, I'm trying to recall if I saw any packages with trials. Do you know of any? What's the other software you tried that didn't work as well for you?

cschmidtner
09-16-2005, 08:51 PM