View Full Version : X50v URGENT ADVICE REQUIRED

Targaid
08-18-2005, 10:37 PM
Sorry to be dramatic, but I'm off on holiday in 12 hours and my X50v just went haywire.

After a complete lockup whilst using Pocket Quicken I had to do a soft reset. Following the soft reset the machine wouldn't go beyond the Dell startup screen and also wouldn't turn off. I had to hard reset twice to get it to behave. The memory card backup doesn't seem to have reinstalled anything, including data and personal profiles & information.

Now I'm back to blank machine and being a complete newbie with PPCs I just want to check the best procedures for reinstalling before I sit it in the cradle & pray only to find out I could've done something else to make life easier.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Jason Dunn
08-18-2005, 11:10 PM
Ouch, that's frustrating! Dell just released the A05 ROM update today, so you might as well install that first then start to re-build it. It's strange that the backup didn't do anything - are you sure it successfully backed up? How big was the file size of the backup?

Targaid
08-18-2005, 11:54 PM
'Fraid I don't know offhand what size the file was, but it did say it was backed up. I did another one saved onto the PC the other day though, so I guess the next stage is to try that...

Mitch D
08-19-2005, 01:46 AM
I have not had an issue with my x50v (and with any luck I won't), I did have a similar issue with the hx4700 I had. When I was talking to HP tech support they felt it was a software conflict that caused the lockup on a reboot (it would happen each time I tried to use SE_VGA). But I'm thinking it might actually be a registry error as everything was usually fine after a Hard Reset, but I am not an expert in this area.

Targaid
08-19-2005, 02:21 AM
I've just been on the Dell Service runaround for the last two sodding hours :bad-words: