View Full Version : HELP! I need to find a suitable PDA for my needs...

Shahid
05-19-2005, 03:14 AM
Hey Everyone,

Right off the bat, thanks in advance for any and all responses.

A short intro: I work in the IT industry and used to be a gadget-head. I used to own a Palm V, but got rid of it when my company bought me a BlackBerry. I've been using BlackBerry(s) for a while now, but no matter how many models they come out with it's primarily an email device. I need something that can do much more...

So, I'm back hunting for the perfect PDA, but boy oh boy things have changed!! So many models, so many features. I've read many reviews and forum posts, but I find that often they're written with the power user in mind. I don't plan on being a power user.

Can you help me find the perfect PDA? This is what I need from it:

MUST HAVE
It must synch with Outlook in an efficient and clean manner. I need to be able to have my entire mailbox (only 100MB) on my PDA and it has to be usable. Preferably, I'd like to be able to search folders as well to find emails...

It must allow me to snooze appointments, tasks, and alarms. (Similar to the functionality in Outlook 2003).

It must be able to handle basic Word, Excel, PDF, and JPG files. I need to be ale to edit the Word and Excel files on the fly.

It must allow me to hold anywhere from 256MB to 1GB worth of files in external storage (i.e. SD slot)

Ability to run the following apps from sd: some sort of dictionary app and some sort of mapping application (directions, etc..)

Under US$300 pricepoint. (I'm willing to buy used on ebay).

Wifi (Out of curiosity, can PDAs share folders via WiFi networks?)

NICE TO HAVE

Vibrating alarm.

LED indicating alarm or reminder.

Some sort of USB drive functionality. [Can you tell I'm a newbie?] But is it possible to use a Pocket PC as a external removable drive somehow? Similar to the "Drive Mode" functionality available with the new Palm Devices?

Standard headphone jack.

TIE BREAKERS