View Full Version : MUSIC QUALITY (Compression vs. Quality and Variety)

Perk
04-15-2005, 11:36 PM
My profession is Custom Home Entertainment. Music is very important to me and I really enjoy the current digital transition and how we can now carry so much good quality sound in such small devices.

I am proud to say that I do NOT own an iPOD. I do enthusiastically own a Pocket PC and listen to music on it most every day. So the tough part is storage. I want to load enough music so I'm not compelled to change it in a week or so. I also want to hear every detail, or at least as much as a portable device with a really good headset will produce.

I've compared codecs and compression rates. The newer ones are better but some are propietary and that means I can't use my favorite soft player. None of them sound as good as a wave file. So, I'm looking for your opinion of what "open codec" and what rate seems to be the best tradeoff.

I'f you're not really into music on your PDA, please don't reply. If you are, I know you must be facing the same challenge and I'd love to hear where you're at with this.

Many thanks,
Mike

Don Tolson
04-15-2005, 11:41 PM
Actually, I realize there is a tradeoff to be made between the recorded quality and what I will hear out of my headphones. It also depends on what I'm using the music for.

If it's just background while I'm working, or something to help me relax, then I don't fuss as much about the quality and instead, opt for decreased storage requirements (so I can get as much on a card as possible). In these cases, WMPlayer's variable bit rate seems to work just fine. I've found I lose too much on .MP3's, but I do produce those for overall compatibility with other units.