View Full Version : Which is the better eBooks reader ?

jsnielsen
03-06-2005, 11:45 AM
Hey guys,

I'm fairly new at reading eBooks. I've tried both PDF reader and MSReader. What I'm looking for, is a reader that's at least screen orientation aware, and VGA aware, as I'll be reading on an x50v.

Also, ClearType is a must, plus navigation via the hardware button on the device.

I don't need this to be a DRM discussion, a religious e-book reader war or something ;) But of course, if any of these things are relevant as for the use of the books, please enlighten me :)

IanG
03-06-2005, 11:21 PM
Personally I like using micro-book reader. www.gowerpoint.com

Works fine for txt, html, rtf files and includes native zip support. Nice options on font, color, size, skins etc as well.

Ian G

Oreocat
03-07-2005, 12:13 AM
I use both Mobipocket, www.mobipocket.com and Ereader, formerly Palm Reader, at www.ereader.com.

I've heard there's a patch for Mobi to use on vga units, but not sure on Ereader. Both have trials, and can still be used after the trials, minus a few features.

Good luck :)

ikatkov
03-07-2005, 01:50 AM
I'm not sure about VGA support, but HaaliReader is the best.
You should definitely give it a try.

nategesner
03-10-2005, 03:54 PM
Mobi is a good version if you want dictionary support (selecting a word in any book can take you to the dictionary for a definition) or if you want to download news and other web information to read.

On the other hand, I really like iSilo because it is compatible with more book formats and a little easier to use. It also seems to look better when reading a book.

Problem is, I've yet to find a single reader that does everything I want, so I keep both of these on my PDA. They run off my storage card, so space isn't an issue.

drop
03-10-2005, 06:33 PM
I used MS Reader and Palm Reader (now eReader) with X5.

Now I prefer Mobipocket Reader.

With applying the VGA Brute Force hack from Tweaks2k2 and, to me, the text looks great on X50v.