View Full Version : Please help me to decide...

wirelesscop
02-24-2005, 01:13 AM
Hey Everyone,

I am a little new to the PPC w/ Cellular thing. I do have a HP 2215 PPC which I am pretty familiar with. One of the main reasons I purchased the HP 2215 was so I could retrieve email and surf the web while mobile. Well, I don't think I have to explain how much of a pain in the neck it can be lugging the cables and cell phone attachments around to accomplish the internet / email connection only to be slave to a SLOOOOW connection. After long deliberation, I decided to look into purchasing a PPC that had cellular / broadband speeds bulit in. (Hopefully I am using the correct terminology.)

I THINK that I have narrowed it down to either SPRINT or VERIZON. I have Nextel for voice and to say that the data speeds they currently offer are slow...is being nice. T-Mobile is out as well. I tried them about a year ago. I used one of their connection cards. REALLY disapointing. Then there is Cingular / AT&T. I think that the only data plan they have that is of any interest to me is the $79.99 / month plan. BUT...I don't want to pay that much. Plus, I am not looking to get a connection card this time around.

So, the other day I visited both Sprint and Verizon. Verizon has the XV6600 which is really nice! It seemed to pull up EVERY URL that I typed into it. And it was FAST! The plan is pretty cheap too. Unlimited for $49.99.

Then I went to Sprint. I am not sure if the salespeople knew what they were talking about there... The ONLY PPC device I saw there was a Treo 650. I am sure that it's a wonderful device, BUT...I really want to stick to a Window's o/s. They claim that Sprint doesn't sell a PPC w/ a Window's o/c. Of course if you go onto the Sprintpcs.com site, there is a PPC6600. Not seeing what I really wanted there (PPC w/ Window's o/s), I played w/ the Treo 650. The ONLY website that pulled up was Yahoo! Whereas the Verizon unit pulled up EVERY site I plugged in.