View Full Version : Pocket RSS vs. Avantgo

Squid
01-10-2005, 04:27 AM
Hello all,

I am looking for some help. I am new to the RSS scene, and have never used the software before.

Recently after upgrading my Avantgo software I found that I couldn't keep my content on a storage card like in the past. After talking with their support folks I got the word that they offered that ability with Palm but not with the Pocket PC side. As a result, I started looking at RSS feeds as an alternative.

I currently have a trial version of Pocket RSS on my iPaq 5455. My questions are:
a) What are alternative RSS programs to run on my iPaq?
b) How do you find real "feeds"? I like Reuters, CNN, that sort of thing. When I have gone to sites in the past it was like "Bob's thoughts on the news". There doesn't seem like a simple coherent place exists to find legitimate feeds.
c) Do all of the "feeds" truncate the news? Can you set the software to download the entire story, including pictures? Everything I have seen so far seems to get cut...

That is all I can think of now. Thanks an awful lot.

Regards,

Squid

isomaniac
01-10-2005, 08:09 AM
Hi, I started to use RSS since last week and am using Egress for PPC, Sharp Reader for PC and Rocket Info for web based PC RSS readers.

I wish there is an "integrated" RSS solution so that user can easily transfer the subscribed feeds from one device to another.

Also I hope there I can "tag" my interested "headlines" which the RSS Reader will auto download its full article when an Internet connection is found.

jimski
01-10-2005, 08:28 AM
I am not advocating AvantGo (takes so loooong to sync), but I believe that Tweaks2K2 will allow you to move the content to a storage card. I moved my AvantGo content to my iPAQ File Store last night.