View Full Version : CF and SD slots

footdoc
12-20-2004, 05:48 PM
What is advantage of getting a unit with a CF and SD slot vs. SD slot only

Deus
12-20-2004, 07:06 PM
In addition to the ability to add more memory. There are more accessories which can be used via CF slot

MROX
12-20-2004, 07:38 PM
I'm new in PPC world, but I heard CF is taking a good chunck in your battery life (compare to SD).
Personnaly, I will manager to get a PPC with both of them.

ADBrown
12-20-2004, 07:51 PM
I'm new in PPC world, but I heard CF is taking a good chunck in your battery life (compare to SD).

That's incorrect. There's no noticible power difference between the two. They're both inconsequential.

V-iPAQ
12-21-2004, 12:22 AM
I duno. My new ppc doesnt have CF. Ive never had anything other than memcards anyway.
0X

shawnc
12-21-2004, 12:32 AM

That's incorrect. There's no noticible power difference between the two. They're both inconsequential.

He may be referring to a microdrive, which fits into the CF slot. Anyway, I think the advantage is more than offset by the increase in the physical size of a unit with both. Especially if you have a unit with wireless capability built-in. Just my opinion.

ADBrown
12-21-2004, 03:06 AM
Anyway, I think the advantage is more than offset by the increase in the physical size of a unit with both.

To each their own. I find the ability to add four or five gigs of storage on the cheap to be worth the extra twelve hundredths of an inch.

Menneisyys
12-21-2004, 07:01 PM

In the past, I'd have said that go for a mnodel equipped with a CF slot too. Now that SD's cost the same and, more importantly, the latest (VGA) batch of machines accesses SD cards faster than CF cards (ppl at AximSite and my own measurements all back this up), I'd say buying a PPC without the CF slot isn't a big problem any more.