View Full Version : Lap Top Recommendation - Dell - Toshiba

Birdman
12-15-2004, 01:00 AM
I am looking for laptop for general home use, i.e. some work, email, web surfing through Wi-Fi, CD and DVD burning and MP3 (WMA) collection. Doesn't need to be super portable, but I would like to keep it under 7 lbs or so.

I am looking to spend around CDN$2,500 and I have been focussing on Pentium M - Dell 600M; Dell 8600; Toshiba M30 (?). This can get me about 512 memory (or 768); 60-80gb HD, CD and DVD burner, 802.11g, etc.

I am not particularly wedded to any of them but from browsing the Dell site and BestBuy, these seem to have all of the features (or can be configured to have all the features) within that price point.

I have done searches but would welcome any comments or suggestions.
TIA

jbachandouris
12-15-2004, 01:14 AM
I work on Dells for a living. The machines are good, but the tech support is getting worse everyday. If you can buy the laptop through a corporate account, the tech support is US. Consumers get India or some other country. When customers say they want to return their Dells and ask for a recommendation, I tell them Best Buy, Circuit City or CompUSA. Why? Simply because there are onsite technicians and you won't spend hours on the phone with tech support from another country.

As I said, they are good machines, but the consumer tech support leaves much to be desired.

BTW my personal laptop is an HP bought directly from HP (instead of Best Buy), and guess what? Tech support fron Canada or...you guessed it...India! :cry:

Dave Beauvais
12-15-2004, 07:06 AM