View Full Version : new to ppcs... a few questions

ckufta
11-27-2004, 08:16 AM
I am new to PPCs. I currently have a laptop, but its a bohemoth and thus not practical for mobility. Works great for games though, and a great space saver. I am considering getting a PPC for taking notes in class since I hear that their battery life is much stronger. I had a few questions though:
- what are the main differences between pocket pc/palm/tablets etc.
- what are the main differences between wi-fi/802.1/bluetooth and infrared. do these terms overlap?
- what is the difference between RAM and ROM. I have seen some descriptions that say that a particular model has 128 megs: 64 ram and 64 ROM. I don't understand?
- what is the battery life typically like? are we talking in the order of 2 hours, or something like 5 or 6?
- what are the main characteritics that one should be concerned with when shopping. I don't intend to play games with it, but it would be very nice to be able to connect to my wireless internet.
-oh ya, can this be practically used as an mp3 player? does that drain the battery like crazy. I'm think a la Ipod, with less storage.
I understand that this is an ambitious post and I really appreciate any help that anyone can give me.
Cheers

ADBrown
11-27-2004, 10:44 AM
- what are the main differences between wi-fi/802.1/bluetooth and infrared. do these terms overlap?

Only a little. WiFi and 802.11 are the same thing. WiFi is a medium-range wireless networking protocol, capable of local networking and high-speed internet access at 100-1500 feet. Bluetooth is a short-range wireless communication protocol for talking between devices like PPCs and cell phones, other PPCs, peripherals, etc.. You can use this to beam files, connect to a GPS, play games, lots of things. Infrared is an old and dying standard used mostly for transmitting contact information from one person's PDA to another. It's not used much anymore.