View Full Version : Best ebook reader - comparison

jonasludvigsson
11-22-2004, 09:00 PM
Hello,
I am totally new to the world of ebooks.
I would like to know if any more professional comparison of different ebook readers has been made? Some people obviously regard the adobe reader a joke, others love mobipocket/reader while still others go with the MS reader.
What should I think of before choosing an ebook reader?
Background: I am into medicine, and I mostly read science stuff.
sincerely, Jonas Ludvigsson from Sweden

AggieJon
11-22-2004, 10:30 PM
I used Microsoft Reader for quite a while, but for the last few months I've been using µBook (http://www.gowerpoint.com/uBook_main.html). I love it! It uses the screen real-estate better, so that you have less page turns, and it supports palm books, txt, rtf, html, and it can read inside zip files. 8O
The skins make reading easier on my eyes, as well.

It has always been free, but I just noticed that there is a new version on their homepage, with this message attached:
In the last months, the donations have trickled down and it is quite expensive to maintain µBook and this web site. So we have decided to make µBook licensing mandatory. The license price has been set to 12$ usd.

I wish it were still free, but I guess I don't have to upgrade. :|

Pat Logsdon
11-22-2004, 10:44 PM
I like MobiPocket. Cleartype, autoscroll, customizable fonts, text and background colors, easy orientation switches and support for most eBook formats.

One of the things I like best about it, however, is that I can create and/or read blogs/rss feeds etc. The eNews Creator (http://www.mobipocket.com/en/DownloadSoft/ProductDetailsCreator.asp?edition=Home&feature=16) will even let you "scrape" regular web pages on a set schedule. Very nice! 8)

disconnected
11-23-2004, 05:19 AM
I mostly read current fiction, so DRM is inescapable. Ereader has the least annoying DRM handling.

Jorgen
11-23-2004, 07:27 AM
I mainly use iSilo and MS Reader: