View Full Version : PDA as mini-Tablet PC?

maniladude
11-21-2004, 12:26 PM
Hey all,

I'm a student looking into getting a PDA to use to take notes (and drawings of graphs and diagrams) and do homework like essays and letters on the go (in line for something, in a car, etc). A little e-mail and chat on the side is something I'd like to do with it, too. Essentially, to use as a mini-Tablet PC. Is a PDA a practical device for this kind of work?

I'm looking into the Palm Tungsten C for this. I like the built-in thumb-board for doing things on the go (I'm not looking forward to writing much of anything in Graffiti), the Wi-Fi and the Documents to Go (which I understand works far better than Pocket Word). But is a thumb-board or Wi-Fi on a PDA practical for anything I'd imagine myself to be doing? Would I be better off saving a few hundred and just getting a Tungsten E or Zire 72, and a separate folding keyboard?

I'm also honestly not sure whether or not to get a Palm over a Pocket PC; specifically, I'm debating between the T|C, an Axim (for if I realize that a thumb-board is worthless) and the iPAQ H4355 (the one with the thumb-board). It seems to me that Palms in general have more out-of-the-box usability (what with Documents to Go bundled with nearly every model), but that PPC's have more growth potential in terms of programs and add-ons - but that you pay through the nose for expansion in either system. I don't want to spend much more than I do on the device itself..

I have no idea what a POP3 or an IMAP is, except that they are some way to grab email on a mobile device, and that they don't work at all with the "free" e-mail services (Hotmail and Yahoo) that I use.. Is there some way for me to check mail on accounts like those with a Wi-Fi PDA?

I'm also interested in doing free-hand notes, diagrams and graphs with a PDA; is there any program that would allow me to do this on a PDA?

That's a lot of questions, I know, but thanks for any answers!

IpaqMan2