View Full Version : Dell X50 vs the X30...... what to get?

Kez_136
11-15-2004, 08:27 AM
G'day all

Dell Australia have successfully stuffed up my christmas order for my Axim X30. Now they say it's a discontinued product, and I dont know weather or not to get the new X50, or to tell Dell to go eat their own products.

What's the differences? Is it better than the X30? (Stupid question, a newer model may or may not be better in my opinion)

I know it has compact flash and SD, which is a good thing, but being a network engineer, I want Ministumbler to run on my new PDA, and want to know if Ministumbler will work on the X50. Other than that, I've looked at the battery tests on this forum for it, and 17 hours for MP3 playback is very nice, and 6/5 hours on the 2200mh battery is good aswell!

My main concern is can i run ministumbler on the X50 using the internal WiFi, is the new video mode worth the extra money over the older model?

Thanks for your help, I'm just very angry that Dell have charged my Amex card, and rang me saying the product doesnt exist now. So I dont know weather to bargain them into giving me the X50 at a discounted price, or to get them to find me an X30.

-Kez

Anthony Caruana
11-15-2004, 10:18 AM
Hi Kez

If you can afford the X50v then I'd say get it. the screen is very good and the form facor is sweet.

I'll try Ministumbler out shen I get home in a couple of hours.

From another Aussie

Kez_136
11-15-2004, 10:24 AM
Ah excellent!

I've read else where that it doesnt work :(, but that wififofum does... if you could tell me, that would be brilliant, as I need to know by tommorow morning (Aussie time) if WiFiFoFum or Ministumbler work on it.

Darius Wey
11-15-2004, 11:03 AM
Dell Australia have successfully stuffed up my christmas order for my Axim X30. Now they say it's a discontinued product, and I dont know weather or not to get the new X50, or to tell Dell to go eat their own products.

Eat their own products? :lol: