View Full Version : x30 verses the x50v Is the upgrade worth it?

bmurphy
10-28-2004, 06:04 PM
I've just got the x30 624 mhz and I would like to know from anyone if it is worth going back and upgrading to the x50v? The only difference is the VGA card (+ the extra slot). Is the screen that much different that it is worth upgrading to? anyone have any comparisons of both?
Barb

upplepop
10-28-2004, 06:26 PM
I've seen the iPaq hx4700 screen, and VGA is really nice. You do get a much sharper picture and the ability to see more on the screen. But I don't believe it is worth upgrading just for the VGA. Read my thoughts about device upgrading here. (http://www.pocketpcthoughts.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=33725&highlight=)

Take a look at this pic:
http://www.aximsite.com/x50review/high/resolution.jpg

bmurphy
10-28-2004, 06:49 PM
thanks for your info... I looked through the thread you mentioned, and you have good points. I'm afraid I'm a tech junkie... and I've had a hard time restraining myself from all the new stuff. I primarily read e-books and have had a great time using the wi-fi from my chair (keeping a watch on pocket pc thoughts for example), and watching messenger to see if anyone of my contacts has come on. The CF slot would be nice since my camera uses that, and I have big cards already, but I haven't even remotely used up the 256 mg sd card that I have in the x30.
My problem is that I paid hugely for my Cassiopeia 3-4 years ago, and it was obsolete before I got it out of the store, and I promised myself that I would get the most upto date stuff out there when I replaced it. (I also have to contend with Can. pricing!)

jasondearyou
10-28-2004, 11:24 PM
it depends on your desire. I think that you shouldn't upgrade as yet, it sorta feeds your techaholism, since you admit that you're a techaholic. So unless you are extremely discriminate, keep what you have and move on unitl they have something worth upgrading to and spending extra money on.

my two cents.