View Full Version : backup sw for 4700

jpf
10-15-2004, 11:29 PM
I'm having a lousy time with my new 4700. I'd like to be able to back up specific things like contacts and tasks. I'm new to PI too so I'm not sure if it's possible within PI itself.
But, is Sprite able to do this? I don't really want to back up everything unless I can choose specifically what to restore.

Thanks for anyone's input.

Don Tolson
10-16-2004, 12:04 AM
You can tell Sprite to backup only specific files if you want, or just the PIM stuff (Contacts, Tasks, Appts, etc.) or everything. It's a pretty complete tool.

I believe there's a 'try before you buy' program for it.

Also, I think the iPAQ Backup that came with the 4700 is an earlier version of Sprite Backup.

jpf
10-16-2004, 01:42 AM
Thanks for that.
I ran a full backup to my sd card and tried a hard reset and restore.
Activesync still refused to work, so I reset again and was able to restore just the contacts, tasks, etc which I'm happy about.
The rest I'll reinstall, hopefully without losing activesync again.
I decided for $8 with the upgrade/coupon, getting the upgrade for sprite backup was a wise move. Backup to PC sounds nice, not sure about the monitor thing though.

jpf
10-16-2004, 01:50 AM
I immediately followed by installing dinarsoft switcher and memmaid.
I'll be damned if the thing didn't hard reset itself after refusing to switch back on for a minute...

<vent> This is very annoying :evil: </vent>

ctmagnus
10-16-2004, 02:37 AM
I'm not pointing fingers here, but I've had hard-reset issues after a fresh install of MemMaid as well. Fortunately, I had started doing full backups before installing any new software to my precious.

jimski
10-16-2004, 03:51 AM