View Full Version : HP vs. Dell customer support question

Johnny_S
09-17-2004, 08:43 PM
I guess I have been boycotting HP for the past 3 years, so the MyPal 730 was a big deal for me, but after the last bit of news on the Dell Axim X50, I am going to wait it out again. Even if HP is the OEM for the Dell, if I don't have to deal directly with HP, I'd consider it.

So what are your takes on Dell customer support? I am sure that people have had good experiences with HP, but mine have been bad, and then what was once good Bombpaq support, then turned bad after HP put its paws on them. I don't mind hearing good or bad reports on either of the companies.

Johnny_S
09-17-2004, 08:45 PM
How does the poll thing work? what does poll option mean?

capo
09-17-2004, 09:20 PM
I've got a long history will Dell customer support, but only with desktops, servers and such (both business and personal). I have no complaints about them.
I have a very short history with HP and don't plan on making it any longer. I had an original Compaq Aero, then an iPaq (Compaq), now an HP iPaq. I never had any complaints about Compaq service - again, I had a long history with their other equipment, business and personal. I only had one hardware issue with one of my Compaq PDAs (can't remember if it was the Aero or the iPaq) and had to send it back. It was serviced properly, quickly and at no charge. Recently I had a problem with my HP iPaq - it was working fine but like a fool I installed a ROM update from HP's support site and installed it. Mysteriously, my WiFi stopped working. I contacted HP but they wouldn't talk to me unless I paid them first. I thought that was a bit harsh for a 9 month old iPaq and an issue with a service pack. I let them know I didn't think that was great customer service and their response was basically "too bad." To be fair, the iPaq is only covered by a 3 month warranty. I guess ROM updates are at your own risk after that.