View Full Version : 5455 WiFi gone???

hogger_jeff
09-11-2004, 07:32 PM
Strange problem. The WiFi on my 5455 won't turn on any more. No matter what I do, I can't get even the little orange light to start blinking, never mind the green one. Bluetooth indicator still comes on. I've tried everything short of a hard reset. FWIW, I've got the upgrade to WM2003, but the Wireless has been working flawlessly for months. This is a sudden thing, with NO system changes or software installs to prompt it. Any suggestions, or is the wireless on this Ipaq just prone to quitting? :cry:

hogger_jeff
09-11-2004, 10:31 PM
:? OK...got it. Hard reset did the job. Still wish I could do an activesync over WiFi, though. I can connect, but only as a guest. I guess it's one of those things you never fix...! :|

Ultima
09-12-2004, 04:28 AM
Next time pop the battery off for about a minute or two, then put it back on. I'm not an electrical engineer, so I can't say why this worked on my 'ol 5455 (may it rest in shame) but it did.

Maybe the WiFi circuits just need to discharge a bit?

manny-
09-13-2004, 04:50 PM
yes i got the same problem there must be some other way to get the wlan starting i dont want to remove the battery every time the wlan stops working i have downloaded all wifi updates on hp's website but still only works sometimes

hogger_jeff
09-15-2004, 06:44 PM
Next time pop the battery off for about a minute or two, then put it back on. I'm not an electrical engineer, so I can't say why this worked on my 'ol 5455 (may it rest in shame) but it did.

Maybe the WiFi circuits just need to discharge a bit?

Isn't that just the same as doing a hard reset? I thought a hard reset momentarily disconnects the battery. I still have the headache of doing a restore afterwards.

that_kid
09-15-2004, 07:35 PM
Isn't that just the same as doing a hard reset? I thought a hard reset momentarily disconnects the battery. I still have the headache of doing a restore afterwards.