View Full Version : question on surfing the net using pocket pc

erictan8888
08-23-2004, 12:55 PM
hi,

i am relatively new to pocket pc usage.... have a HP jornada 560 for about 2 years already.... but used it for basic usage like scheduling and tasks management only...

i tried using it to surf the internet about a year ago and my experience with it was not too good... it seems to me that a lot of sites are not accessible from the pocket pc internet explorer....

now, i am thinking of buying Dell's Axim X30 and take advantage of the wireless internet i set up at home... just a few questions to ask here:

1. can i surf the internet using the latest pocket pc like dell's axim X30 ?

2. are there any websites that i cannot view on the pocket pc internet explorer? for instance, can this pocketpcthoughts forum be viewed on a pocket pc?

3. can i access hotmail using the pocket pc?

4. i noticed that pocket pc typically has very low battery performance capability.... and that palm OS pda typically can allow up to 7 to 10 days of average usage before needing a charge. for pocket pc, it is ilke at most 2 days of normal usage and you have to charge it already. how true is this?

thanks
all the answers will help me greatly in deciding whether to get a pocket pc or just a simple palm OS pda or the sony clie...
have a nice day
eric :)

maximus
08-23-2004, 01:58 PM
1. Yep. Doing it everyday on an axim X5 + GPRS.
2. Yep. You will be able to view most 'normal' websites.
3. Yep. Doing it everyday on an axim X5 + GPRS.
4. 7 to 10 days on palm devices ... hmm ...

billbuckner
08-23-2004, 02:54 PM
4. 7 to 10 days on palm devices ... hmm ...
WRONG! With an iPaq or other compatible device, you will get only two hours of use. With a Palm Powered Connected Solution, You of course will get eighteen months of normal use!